No Call Logs

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

No Call Logs

Post by niknak » Sun Feb 22, 2009 1:55 pm

Hi
I have been using ooma for about 3 weeks....not making many calls, and only receiving a few test calls (since nobody has the new ooma number) however, there have been no entries in the call logs for either incoming or outgoing calls.....??? does something have to be enabled for call logs to work?
Thanks

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: No Call Logs

Post by niknak » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:02 pm

can anyone tell me why there are no entries in my call logs?

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: No Call Logs

Post by murphy » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:17 pm

Do you have your landline integrated with ooma?
Have your test calls been local calls?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: No Call Logs

Post by niknak » Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:00 pm

landline is still separate until porting is complete
I am using an ooma assigned phone number

yes, the test calls in to the ooma have been local, however I have made 4 or 5 long distance calls as well but nothing shows up in the logs

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: No Call Logs

Post by Dennis P » Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:35 pm

It should not affect your ability to get call logs, but we don't have any debug logs for your device (making it more difficult to determine the problem). Your router or firewall may be blocking syslog (port 514). Could you try opening that up?

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: No Call Logs

Post by Dennis P » Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:15 pm

Actually, the problem may be more fundamental than that. It doesn't look like your ooma box picked up a DNS server. Do you have it setup for static IP addressing? Can you describe your setup a little more?

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: No Call Logs

Post by niknak » Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:29 pm

I have verizon fios going to their router using coaxial cable
from the router I have a switch to which 4 desktop pcs and a wireless access point are connected.

Everything works well with the router DHCP pool of 192.168.1 to 192.168.1.100 available for my devices.

All the computers use DHCP for their addresses, the access point and network printer use static IP addresses assigned by me.

When I first got ooma I tried to connect as follows
FIOS --> Router-->OOMA -->Switch but got only red lights

Then tried FIOS --> Router-->Switch-->OOMA (defaults)still got red lights

Then connected OOMA directly to laptop and entered ooma setup and changed default OOMA IP to static IP in my router's range

Current setup (WHICH WORKS PERFECTLY) is:
FIOS --> Router-->Switch-->OOMA (static IP in my router's DHCP pool)

Thanks !

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: No Call Logs

Post by Dennis P » Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:34 pm

Cool. Can you make sure you have configured a DNS server on your ooma Hub? That will make it easier to troubleshoot the problem.

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: No Call Logs

Post by niknak » Tue Feb 24, 2009 7:25 pm

Dennis
Thanks for your quick response

What is the setting needed for DNS server?
Is this a setting from Verizon?

I am not at home right now
I will make any changes you suggest asap!

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: No Call Logs

Post by Dennis P » Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:56 am

You should get your DNS server settings from Verizon. You should be able to find it either on your router or your computer. If not, you can use servers for opendns.org:

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

Post Reply