Ooma and Comcast Digital Voice

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
RhuntMT
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:48 pm

Ooma and Comcast Digital Voice

Post by RhuntMT » Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:51 pm

If you selected to port your number over and you have selected to use integrated line, be advised you will have to plug a phone cord from the wall connection into the phone connection of the cable voice modem.

Otherwise you will not get a dial tone, and your Ooma will not finish the registration step.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Ooma and Comcast Digital Voice

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:15 am

That's exactly why I always recommend to keep the landline separate from Ooma. Expecially if you're going to port anyway.
Keep one phone on your old landline and another on Ooma.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ooma and Comcast Digital Voice

Post by southsound » Sat Apr 10, 2010 10:18 am

I'm in total agreement with WayneDSR about keeping your landline separate. If you want to use your old number before a port, just pay for a month or so of call forwarding (from your existing provider) to your new ooma number. Some think that they can "test the system" with landline integration before making a commitment to port their number. However, when you integrate your landline you are only testing half the ooma. There are also some ooma features that won't work with landline integration and you open yourself up to a lot of additional problems. I am puzzled why ooma even offers this "feature" anymore.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Ooma and Comcast Digital Voice

Post by Groundhound » Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:16 pm

Count me also as one who would not recommend landline integration. Also, the issues are for any kind of phone you declare as a "landline" when you register your Ooma, so Comcast Digital Voice is not special in this case.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma and Comcast Digital Voice

Post by lbmofo » Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:09 pm

Before my number ported from Verizon, in landline integration mode, the incoming callerid didn't work even though I subscribed to the callerid feature with Verizon; it was a known bug. Now that I got the number ported to ooma, all works fine now.

Post Reply