How to tell what firmware on the Ooma Telo

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
cumbi
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:57 am

Re: How to tell what firmware on the Ooma Telo

Post by cumbi » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:07 pm

The Logo on my Telo was flashing red yesterday. The technician I spoke to had me do a factory reset as everything else was working. I now have no blue display even though I can call out and receive calls. The number 1 flashes red when a call comes in. The new message indicator flashes red when there is new voicemail. The buttons function but there is no blue display.
Is my Telo shot?
Does this have to do with the firmware update?
Oh, quick update: I pressed the brightness adjustment button and got the Logo to turn blue....nothing else.
Anyone?

User avatar
stubeeef
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 1:08 pm

Re: How to tell what firmware on the Ooma Telo

Post by stubeeef » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:19 pm

murphy wrote:
stubeeef wrote:My handset says version (nothing says firmware) 32829. I don't see anything mentioning firmware or with a 1. preceding a number.
Connect to http://setup.ooma.com
Click on Status in the left column.
It's at the top of the page.
I don't get a web page with that link.
Is there a better address?

User avatar
DTMF
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: How to tell what firmware on the Ooma Telo

Post by DTMF » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:26 pm

nilesf wrote:More than nine days to update everyone? Yes I guess it makes sense to asume that Ooma does not have enough bandwidth to roll out updates for everyone. But when do you think one could expect everyone to be complete?


Thank you,
Niles
It's probably not just about bandwidth. It's likely about carefully gauging the effect of devices running the update on company resources like Support and network capacity. If the update doesn't work on some devices or has a negative effect on network capacity, it's much easier to fix when it's only been rolled out to a few thousand users, rather than hundreds of thousands of users. ;)
Ooma customer since November 2009.
Formerly employed at another VoIP company.
My opinions are my own.

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: How to tell what firmware on the Ooma Telo

Post by murphy » Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:37 pm

stubeeef wrote:
murphy wrote:
stubeeef wrote:My handset says version (nothing says firmware) 32829. I don't see anything mentioning firmware or with a 1. preceding a number.
Connect to http://setup.ooma.com
Click on Status in the left column.
It's at the top of the page.
I don't get a web page with that link.
Is there a better address?
You must connect a computer, that has it's DHCP client enabled (no static IP addresses), to the Telo's Home port.
If the computer is a laptop, disable it's wireless radio.
If you are using OpenDNS, disable that also or connect to http://172.27.35.1
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

nilesf
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:51 am

Re: How to tell what firmware on the Ooma Telo

Post by nilesf » Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:27 pm

Nope 33190 is device revision that have. So what do I need to do tp get 35190?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: How to tell what firmware on the Ooma Telo

Post by bw1 » Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:55 pm

The release of 35170 firmware has been stopped. See here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=7188

Post Reply