Ooma Connection Tone wont disable itself

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
nynate
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:34 pm

Ooma Connection Tone wont disable itself

Post by nynate » Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:44 am

In my Ooma preferences online i have disabled the Ooma Connection Tone but i keep getting the Classic Default tone.
I've rebooted my Telo but the Classic Default Tone is still active.

Any suggestions on how to resolve this would be greatly appreciated. I personally find the Connection Tone annoying.

Thanks.

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: Ooma Connection Tone wont disable itself

Post by dtalwar » Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:16 am

Sometimes the settings may take a few minutes to 'stick' ... I have to clarify this though that Ooma dial tone is different from Ooma connection tone. You can disable the connection tone, which is the tone played after your line is connected, but not the little jingle you hear with the dial tone when you pick up the phone. That can't be disabled. You probably knew this already but I thought I would mention it anyways ...

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Ooma Connection Tone wont disable itself

Post by amoney » Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:18 am

This throws lots of people off there is actually two tones you can only disable the second tone that happens when the person on the other end picks up that is what you disabled the first inital ooma sound ypu hear when you go to dial will always be there.

Requests have been made to have option to get rid of it.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

nynate
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:34 pm

Re: Ooma Connection Tone wont disable itself

Post by nynate » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:36 am

Thanks folks. Yes it was the first tone i was referring to.

Hopefully Ooma will put up an option to disable that one too.

Thanks.

sfhub
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:22 am

Re: Ooma Connection Tone wont disable itself

Post by sfhub » Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:32 pm

Maybe they should just change the text in the UI to read "Connection Tone (this is not the Ooma dial tone)". I guarantee this simple 30 second change will result in fewer calls to support, which makes it pay for itself.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Ooma Connection Tone wont disable itself

Post by amoney » Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:13 pm

Ive said it before, I think the second connection tone is outright obnoxious.

I agree a better discription would go along way. Just label it Ooma advertisment tone upon connection. Simple.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

Post Reply