ooma Replacement Power Cable - WORSE!

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Morpheus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:35 am

ooma Replacement Power Cable - WORSE!

Post by Morpheus » Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:41 am

Received the supposedly NEW power cable and it's worse than the one I received with my ooma. It looked used because the cord was unraveled in the box.

Anyone else have this problem?

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: ooma Replacement Power Cable - WORSE!

Post by amoney » Sun Feb 07, 2010 1:29 pm

Guess I have nothing to complain about, I received a unused power cord but it was identical. Some others have indicated that they actually received a adapter with a longer tip. Another person suggested carefully cutting away the plastic to expose more length. Others use tape, I recommend those 3M command clips as a wire keeper.

I like your title, certainly calls out to Ooma, why in the world are they wasting time and money (not to mention agravating customers) sending out these useless replacements.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: ooma Replacement Power Cable - WORSE!

Post by murphy » Sun Feb 07, 2010 1:32 pm

Try pulling gently on the LAN cable connected to the internet port while you insert the power connector. Apparently some Telos have loose motherboards that recede into the case as you push on the power connector.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: ooma Replacement Power Cable - WORSE!

Post by amoney » Sun Feb 07, 2010 5:39 pm

Yeah I heard about that, but it is not in my case.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

Morpheus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:35 am

Re: ooma Replacement Power Cable - WORSE!

Post by Morpheus » Sun Feb 07, 2010 6:25 pm

murphy:

Mine is solid. It's just a defect due to someone not doing their job. How could a power cord connection like this even make it to manufacturing.

I'm sure that the next iteration of the main ooma box will have a secure power cable. Good thing I bought mine from Costco :)

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: ooma Replacement Power Cable - WORSE!

Post by amoney » Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:42 am

Ooma better be carefull, I put a patent on the "cable keeper".

:P
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

luntam
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 9:15 pm

Re: ooma Replacement Power Cable - WORSE!

Post by luntam » Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:34 pm

I received the new power adapter today and the tip looks shorter than the original. Plug it in and it's a little tighter and not easy to pull out. Since I didn't get a return label, I called CS on what is my next step. CS told me to keep the other power adapter and don't ship it back. It's working for now.

Post Reply