No telephone after PC upgrade

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
almostthere
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 8:11 am

No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by almostthere » Sun Jan 17, 2010 8:33 am

After installing Ooma using a wireless broadband internet connection I had telephone service several days. Last weekend I upgraded the PC to Windows 7. It was a "clean install" so all programs and settings were deleted. Every thing was good until I shut down for the night. Next morning I had no telephone, no internet. Bypassing the Telo I was back on the internet.

My setup is - modem, D-Link router, Telo. PC is connected to router.

I have never been able to access the Ooma setup page.

The Telo cycles through all the lights, flashes red for a short time, becomes solid red, turns off briefly, then begins cycling again.

Any suggestions?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by murphy » Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:27 am

You must connect the pc to the home port of the Telo to access the setup page.
You also can't be using opendns for your dns server.
If you are, connect to http://172.27.35.1 to reach setup.
Once you are ther go to the network page and click the radio button that says to use the built-in MAC address.
Click update.
Power cycle everything.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

almostthere
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 8:11 am

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by almostthere » Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:01 am

I tried the http://172.27.35.1 access but am unable to reach setup. I do have open dns running but haven't been able to disable it.

Potts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by Potts » Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:26 am

I don't know if this is going to help you, I have a Linksys. This is what I did and it works great.

I ran a short Ethernet cable from modem. to the routers internet port, and hooked up the pc and ooma systems to the wan ports of the router. Although I cant access http://172.27.35.1 from the browser. I can access it using the routers software.
Setup Dec. 2009. Cable Modem, (Hub and Scout purchase Amazon.Com) Router (Linksys WRT5465S2) Ooma Premier.

almostthere
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 8:11 am

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by almostthere » Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:05 pm

I don't know how to access the routers software. I have tried different browsers but still unable cannot get into setup.

Potts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by Potts » Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:22 pm

Take some time and go to the D-link web site. Look up your router, and see what they have to offer.
Setup Dec. 2009. Cable Modem, (Hub and Scout purchase Amazon.Com) Router (Linksys WRT5465S2) Ooma Premier.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:35 pm

Temporarily connect a pc or laptop to the HOME/NETWORK port of the Telo. Re start the pc/laptop so the Telo assigns an IP to the pc/laptop. Open up Internet Explorer or other browser. Type:
http://setup.ooma.com

The setup screen should come up in your browser.

This is how I access the setup page and I use open DNS.

Your pc should have nothing to do with the Telo not working if both the Telo and the PC are connected to ports on the router.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

almostthere
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 8:11 am

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by almostthere » Sun Jan 17, 2010 1:24 pm

The Telo will not access the internet through the second pc.

Potts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by Potts » Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:33 pm

Check your network connection in win7 Click - Start - Control panel - Network and Sharing center. Under view your active networks. It should read your router, Mine reads Linksys under that it reads Home network. if not than create one.

If win7 does not see your router, use the cds that came with it.
Setup Dec. 2009. Cable Modem, (Hub and Scout purchase Amazon.Com) Router (Linksys WRT5465S2) Ooma Premier.

almostthere
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 8:11 am

Re: No telephone after PC upgrade

Post by almostthere » Sun Jan 17, 2010 3:36 pm

The router is shown but I cannot find anything that recognizes the Telo.

Post Reply