Verizon FIOS and Ooma installation on home network

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Verizon FIOS and Ooma installation on home network

Post by niknak » Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:59 pm

I hope someone will suggest the best way for me to set up my ooma hub
My network is a s follows:

Verizon FIOS in to house demarc --> verizon router --> 8 port network switch ----> 2 wired PC's, 1 Network Print Server, plus 1 wireless access point.

Where should the Ooma hub be placed? I am guessing between the router and the switch?

I don't think I can make a connection from FIOS demarc to router as that is a coaxial cable connection?

Thanks in advance for any help!

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Verizon FIOS and Ooma installation on home network

Post by murphy » Wed Jan 28, 2009 4:12 am

Connect the ooma hub between the FIOS router and the switch. Configure the FIOS router so that the ooma hub is in the FIOS router's DMZ.
If the FIOS router has more than one LAN port, do not use the extra ones.
i.e. all of your computer equipment connects to the switch.

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Verizon FIOS and Ooma installation on home network

Post by niknak » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:14 pm

Thanks for the advice
Could you please explain the DMZ part of the installation?
I have never used the DMZ feature on routers / networks.
Thanks

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Verizon FIOS and Ooma installation on home network

Post by murphy » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:52 pm

The ooma hub will request an IP address from the FIOS router.
Put that IP address in the configuration of the DMZ in the FIOS router.
For all practical purposes it puts the ooma hub on the external Verizon supplied IP address. i.e. anything that is not specifically for the FIOS router is passed on to the ooma hub.

You can determine what IP address was assigned to the ooma hub in the status pages of the FIOS router.

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Verizon FIOS and Ooma installation on home network

Post by niknak » Wed Jan 28, 2009 4:15 pm

I will give it a try
Thank you for all your help

Post Reply