HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
mbartholo
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:49 pm

HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by mbartholo » Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:40 am

I finally got ooma working with one phone, now I need to energize the rest of the house. I followed the instruction to disconnect my current carrier from the house phone circuit, then ran a phone cable from the wall port and tried two different wall outlets, both without successfully making dial tone available to other home phones. Any ideas of anything else to try to make this work? Having ooma in just one location doesn't work.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by murphy » Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:43 am

You need to check out your house wiring to make sure that all of the phone jacks are tied together.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

2spirit
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:28 am
Location: Maryland

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by 2spirit » Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:52 am

The phone jack should be connected to the "Phone" port on the Telo . . . not the wall port. That should get the Ooma dial tone to all phone jacks in your home. Give that a try and see if that doesn't solve your problem. Works well for me!
Telo w/ 2 Ooma Handsets
Annual Premier Subscriber

li3771
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:58 am

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by li3771 » Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:03 am

I have the same problem. One phone works well when it is directly connected to Ooma Telo. But no wall phone plugs work after I connect between one phone jack and plug (wall) in Telo. The phone does not work if insert a spliter (i.e. one phone line in and phone line/wall line out) between phone and Telo. I wonder if it is because the signal strength from Telo is so low that it cannot engegize other devices.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by Groundhound » Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:09 am

li3771 wrote:I have the same problem. One phone works well when it is directly connected to Ooma Telo. But no wall phone plugs work after I connect between one phone jack and plug (wall) in Telo. The phone does not work if insert a spliter (i.e. one phone line in and phone line/wall line out) between phone and Telo. I wonder if it is because the signal strength from Telo is so low that it cannot engegize other devices.
Unless you have a landline integrated with your Telo (a choice you would have made during activation), there should be nothing connected to the Telo wall port. Dialtone from the Telo is only available from the Telo's phone port.

li3771
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:58 am

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by li3771 » Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:25 pm

Groundhound wrote:
li3771 wrote:I have the same problem. One phone works well when it is directly connected to Ooma Telo. But no wall phone plugs work after I connect between one phone jack and plug (wall) in Telo. The phone does not work if insert a spliter (i.e. one phone line in and phone line/wall line out) between phone and Telo. I wonder if it is because the signal strength from Telo is so low that it cannot engegize other devices.
Unless you have a landline integrated with your Telo (a choice you would have made during activation), there should be nothing connected to the Telo wall port. Dialtone from the Telo is only available from the Telo's phone port.
Well, I've also tried to connect Telo's phono port to a wall phone plug. It does not work either.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by Groundhound » Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm

li3771 wrote:]Well, I've also tried to connect Telo's phono port to a wall phone plug. It does not work either.
Do you have the phone company line physically disconnected at the demarc box?

sharpeiboy
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:07 am

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by sharpeiboy » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:08 am

I'm having the same problem. All my house phones are dead except for the one directly plugged into the Ooma base.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by Groundhound » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:21 am

sharpeiboy wrote:I'm having the same problem. All my house phones are dead except for the one directly plugged into the Ooma base.
Distributing dialtone to your house jacks is done from the Ooma phone port (not wall port). This article may be helpful: http://www.ooma.com/support/knowledgeba ... hone-jacks

sharpeiboy
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:07 am

Re: HOW TO ENERGIZE HOUSE PHONE PLUGS??

Post by sharpeiboy » Sat Jan 16, 2010 4:46 pm

Success - all phone jacks in my house are working now.

I called support and they gave me two things to do:

1. Unplug all phones in the house and plug back in one by one. (This didn't remedy the problem.)

2. The next step was to insert a line splitter (like this one http://tinyurl.com/yg8dx62) in the PHONE outlet in the back of the Telo.
Once that's in place, insert a phone line to from the splitter to your wall outlet and one to your phone in that room.

As soon as I did this, all phones in the house work.

Post Reply