Ping the Ooma server?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
User avatar
gflu
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:36 pm

Ping the Ooma server?

Post by gflu » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:05 am

I'm having a problem with my set-up. My Telo is not connecting to the Ooma server to initialize the firmware update. My telo is not firewalled. I can connect to the internet through the telo, so it's on the network. The technician suggested the only other thing it could be is that my ISP (Qwest) is blocking that DNS. That seems really unlikely to me. The Ooma server is at 172.143.168.12
Indeed when I try to ping that address, it times out. So I called Qwest, I got a customer service tech in the Philippines who is not on the Qwest network, and she couldn't ping that address either. I have a friend who gets a timeout also, he is on Comcast.

Can any of you ping that Ooma server and get a response? Would like to know what other ISP networks produce when one pings 172.143.168.12
Maybe this is a fools errand and that is not a pingable IP?

THANKS!
Last edited by gflu on Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Ping the Ooma server?

Post by bw1 » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:14 am

I get request timed out too.

Have you connected to the setup page for your Telo?

You can connect to the Ooma setup page by opening your web browser to http://setup.ooma.com. Note that this page can only be accessed from a computer connected directly to the HOME NETWORK port of the Telo (HOME port on Ooma Hub).

If you're still unable to access the setup page from a computer connected directly to the correct port, you may need to configure your computer to get an IP address dynamically and not use a static IP address. You also may need to reboot your computer.

User avatar
Mike-o-Matic
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:45 pm

Re: Ping the Ooma server?

Post by Mike-o-Matic » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:16 am

As far as I know, I have no service issues of any kind (ooma or otherwise) at the moment, yet I cannot ping this address (172.143.168.12) either. It's possible that there is no ping daemon running at that address. That would make a non-response perfectly normal.

FOLLOWUP EDIT: I doubt that IP address is in any way relevant. A reverse DNS lookup on it returns "AC8FA80C.ipt.aol.com" ... meaning it's not an ooma server that lives there. Looks more like an ISP's DHCP node to me.
Customer Since: November 2009.
Number Port: ordered 12/14/09; completed 01/07/10.
Hardware: one Hub, one Scout, one Telo.
Service Level: Annual Premier.

User avatar
gflu
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:36 pm

Re: Ping the Ooma server?

Post by gflu » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:21 am

I appreciate the quick help. I think I'm back to the firewall issue then cause I can't figure out why my Telo isn't connecting.

I'm going to go down to bestbuy and get a dumb DSL modem, with no router and try the "other" configuration (DSL Line > Modem >Telo >Router).

I'm pretty confident that I have the telo in the router DMZ, but for some reason the Ooma server can't get back to the Telo. I'm getting desperate now.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Ping the Ooma server?

Post by southsound » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:27 am

Are you sure that the IP is the correct one? Doing a whois of 172.143.168.12 shows the following:
OrgName: America Online
OrgID: AOL
Address: 22000 AOL Way
City: Dulles
StateProv: VA
PostalCode: 20166
Country: US
NetRange: 172.128.0.0 - 172.191.255.255
CIDR: 172.128.0.0/10
NetName: AOL-172BLK
NetHandle: NET-172-128-0-0-1
Parent: NET-172-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: DAHA-01.NS.AOL.COM
NameServer: DAHA-02.NS.AOL.COM
NameServer: DAHA-07.NS.AOL.COM
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate: 2000-03-24
Updated: 2003-08-08


tracert also shows a firewall at AOL:
There appears to be a firewall at (hop 11 - unknown) that blocks ICMP (ping) packets.
There appears to be a firewall at (hop 11 - unknown) that blocks unwanted UDP packets.
There appears to be a firewall at 70.86.70.33 that blocks unwanted TCP packets.


Just seems strange that ooma would be using a server from AOL??
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Ping the Ooma server?

Post by amoney » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:53 pm

Anyone know the IP of the Ooma server?

I cant find the other thread with the info.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

aviateur
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:16 am

Re: Ping the Ooma server?

Post by aviateur » Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:16 pm

amoney wrote:Anyone know the IP of the Ooma server?

I cant find the other thread with the info.
I don't but I will find out tonight.
Just run a packet trace with Wireshark and you shall find the answer.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Ping the Ooma server?

Post by amoney » Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:45 pm

I found one...

myxprov.ooma.com
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

Post Reply