caller id not working

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: caller id not working

Post by amoney » Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:07 pm

southsound wrote:
amoney wrote:I dont entirely know the back end of how Ooma has its arrangments with other vendors
Correct.
And when there is a issue, the 3rd party reseller ultimately contacts the Telco that actually controlls the number etc. This is a over simplification. The telco infrastructure is very complex, think of it as alot of middle men.
NO VoIP company currently owns theie own phone numbers.
The delay that was mentioned earlier is the configuration of the caller id to work correctly (the party controlling the number has to configure this, and may take a day or two etc) nothing to do with your equipment.
True for OUTGOING CID.
I remember before I got Caller ID on my landline, it said NO DATA also.
Also true becaues most landline telcos will not send CID unless you pay for it. CID is a great revenue source.
Now the call logs in MYOOMA I can not explain.
What is obvious is that ooma DOES have the CID information and something is preventing the OP's phone from receiving and decoding it. What exactly the problem is would be what the OP is trying to find out.
I disagree in regards to VOIP companies own the number so they controll all the CID... My experience with the message NO DATA (and yes I am well aware of the pay to play, why else do you thing we are all here lol), just simply indicates that the caller ID is obviously not being sent correctly from the telco switch whatever the back end configuration is needed.

Ooma is simply a 3rd party reseller. Just as with other 3rd party telecom reseller even if they "own" the number, if something goes wrong, guess whos truck rolls up to check the line... ATT.

Same goes for internet, when I see hops getting timeouts etc, someone on the the back end needs to reboot a switch etc, not necessarily comcast.

There are alot of middle men to all of this. Ooma does not have complete control over all the lines.

Actually the call log is not that surprising, as a telco has access to log data in general, but if the CID is not configured then the user obviously wont see that displayed, the point is what we see in the Ooma telephone logs may not be CID but just from telco logs.

Bottom line OP needs to call Ooma support.

I have read other Ooma users referrence similar issue where Ooma needs to contact a partner whomever to strieghten out somehting... even though Ooma "owns" the number.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

df5768
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: caller id not working

Post by df5768 » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:25 pm

I spoke with tech support today and the said that it could take up to 10 business days for callerid information to come through on my handsets. So I guess I will wait and see what happens by next weekend.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: caller id not working

Post by amoney » Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:11 pm

df5768 wrote:I spoke with tech support today and the said that it could take up to 10 business days for callerid information to come through on my handsets. So I guess I will wait and see what happens by next weekend.

That sounds like an awfully long time, especially Ooma's tell tell support where customers are told to wait it out.

If you just got a Ooma number and are not overly attached/need it, I would ask for a new number and perhaps it will provide a quicker solution. Our caller ID showed up immediately. Back when we had a landline and ordered CID, it took 48 hours.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: caller id not working

Post by southsound » Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:06 pm

df5768 wrote:I spoke with tech support today and the said that it could take up to 10 business days for callerid information to come through on my handsets. So I guess I will wait and see what happens by next weekend.
I think they misunderstood your problem. Outgoing caller ID can take that long or even longer depending on how often the receiving telco "dips" into the CID database. Incoming caller ID should be immediate if it is being shown in your call logs.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

df5768
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: caller id not working

Post by df5768 » Sun Jan 03, 2010 11:57 am

I made some changes in ooma setup and I'm not sure if this had anything to do with it but callerid is now working.
I wasn't seeing the ooma telo in my router table so I logged into the telo and changed the modem to use the built in mac address. After that change I was able to see the telo in the routing table on my router. I then reserved the ip address that was assigned by my router so the telo will always have the same ip address assinged. Then for the ooma telo I setup port forwarding.

Now I see callerid information for inbound calls. Yipee!!!

Thanks for everyone's help on this.

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: caller id not working

Post by amoney » Sun Jan 03, 2010 11:14 pm

Perhaps a reboot (I assume it auto restarts after a settings change?) or just toggling a setting change gets the device going. Not the first time I heard/seen a similar experience with network equipemnet.

Mine is still set to automatic (using default MAC address), and CID worked immediately after activation/firemware update.

All that matters is that its working, congrats!
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

earler
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:04 am

Re: caller id not working

Post by earler » Tue Jan 05, 2010 7:47 am

I have a similar situation, but my incoming caller ID works sometimes, probably about 25% of the time or less. I've got my Telo (which is behind my router) set up with static IP, but not port forwarding. In the hope of saving myself a call to support, can you tell me what ports you are forwarding to Ooma?

Thanks-

df5768
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: caller id not working

Post by df5768 » Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:55 am

Well my callerid stopped working yesterday. I have also connected a Telo Handset and the callerid information is coming through the handset but it's not coming through to my GE phone anymore. It was working for a couple of days but not anymore :cry:

df5768
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: caller id not working

Post by df5768 » Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:35 am

Spoke with Customer support today and they said this issue has been reported by other users of the Telo as well.
They said that they are working on it and it will be corrected in the next release.

User avatar
The Talker
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: caller id not working

Post by The Talker » Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:47 am

My question in with support was along the lines of why a name, incoming and outgoing, was not displaying for CID. Here is their reply:
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi ,
Regarding incoming calls, ooma has several telco carrier partners from who
we get incoming calls (they are named origination carriers). We just pass
along the along caller-id that they provide, it happens sometimes that
instead of getting the actual people name they pass character strings such
as "WIRELESS CALL", "VISTA CA".

This may happen also if from your cell phone you call cell phones on some
other service providers or some landlines.

You may contact your cell phone provider and ask them what is the caller-id
they send when calling 760-xxx-xxx.
-------------
Regarding outbound calls, the recipients you are calling will see either
"Unknown" or "Ooma Inc" until up to 14 days (at most) after your number
porting is complete (as you requested a number porting). Then they will see
your name as caller-id.
---------------
Thanks,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I am The Talker || **Lifetime Premier Service Subscriber** Use this SEARCH function folks!

Post Reply