Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#37993 by kennaugh
Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:13 pm
I am new to ooma, I am having my telephone number ported. I just recevied an email from ooma;
"if you have DSL on the same number that you requested to port, you will lose our internet connection when the number is ported, ooma will not work without a broadband connection."

I have both a telephone number and DSL from Comcast. They come through the same wall connection, then there is a splitter one side for DSL and the other is for the telephone land line. Is this sufficient or do I need something else? In other words when I lose my telephone number (via porting) will I lose the DSL?
Thanks
#37995 by SteelCase
Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:28 pm
I would call your telephone company. I had my number ported and the landline was terminated on the day the port became effective (about 2 weeks after my request) which was not what I wanted (I wanted to keep the landline as a backup). I do not have DSL but I would not be surprised if your line would be terminated also.
#37997 by southsound
Sat Dec 19, 2009 2:38 pm
kennaugh wrote:I have both a telephone number and DSL from Comcast. They come through the same wall connection, then there is a splitter one side for DSL and the other is for the telephone land line. Is this sufficient or do I need something else? In other words when I lose my telephone number (via porting) will I lose the DSL?
Thanks

Are you sure that it is DSL and not a Cable Internet connection? I was not aware that Comcast used DSL to deliver broadband Internet. Of course I learn new things every day so this could be one of those educational moments.
#38041 by kennaugh
Sun Dec 20, 2009 6:57 am
Thanks for the replies Southbound and SteelCase. My mistake, I have AT&T, Comcast is for the TV.