Ooma experince is not great.. someone please help

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
schmitz33
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:30 pm

Ooma experince is not great.. someone please help

Post by schmitz33 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:14 am

I have had a couple of issues with my ooma, and now have unplugged it because I am so unhappy. Can someone please help me sort through these issues? I have called customer support 3 times and its been so frustrating getting help, 1. because the knowledge level of the help was poor at best. 2. I have been told completley different things about the same problem, 3. The thick accent of the 3 support people have been so thick that Im asking them to repeat what they said more than helping me on my problem.


So here are the problems.

1. The power adapter, still is lose and falls out easily. I have been sent a new one, but this appears to be a major design flaw.

2. I had my Ooma plug in infront of everything else, so all the internet went through the ooma before the router. When I was not on a call, the internet was still slowed down tremendously when the ooma was plugged in (1.2mbs?). When I took the ooma off the speed went back to normal 6-10 mbs?. Keep in mind this was with no call taking place.

3. Sometimes I would get a horrible delay when making a phone call. We would play a game, I would say "go" and as soon as the person on the other line would hear it, they would say "go" back. Sometimes there would be a 3-5 second delay

Can anyone help me trouble shoot?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Ooma experince is not great.. someone please help

Post by bw1 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:03 am

Is the replacement power connector also loose? If so, I would contact that email to tell them that the replacement is also no good.

I see from this thread: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4834
that you have a Telo.

Did you get your configuration problem solved and now have dial tone?

Go here: http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html
and run a speed test and post your results. Click on Advanced and View text to see the details to post.

Do you have DSL or cable internet?
Did you adjust QOS at all?

schmitz33
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:30 pm

Re: Ooma experince is not great.. someone please help

Post by schmitz33 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:54 am

I do have a telo, and yes I got the telo configured, or atleast the Support person got it working

I have comcast cable internet performance package

I will run that test tonight when I get home and let you know

Bertena
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 7:52 am

Re: Ooma experince is not great.. someone please help

Post by Bertena » Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:02 am

My plug easily falls out of the telo as well. At times the unit just powers off. I no longer have the telo in front of the modem, out connected into my wireless adapter as the internet kept going down.

Post Reply