Hub disconnecting the internet

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
just4fn
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: The State of Washington

Hub disconnecting the internet

Post by just4fn » Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:16 am

I've been having trouble with the internet, it has been disconnecting but immediately reconnects. What I don't know is how long this has been happening. It wasn't a problem until I would try to steam a movie. I knew it was either the Cable modem, router or the hub which was in between the router and the modem. I tried power cycle all three components- didn't work. My configuration was: Modem>hub>router>Telo

I removed the hub and put it after the router and now it is fine and does not disconnect. Anybody know why? Should I have put in a static ip?

I was also having trouble with my Telo with the configuration modem>hub>router>Telo. I could call another hub with the telo but could not hear anything. With the configuration modem>router>Telo>hub, the Telo now works fine.

P.S. I tried daisy chain in the setup but I could not get any voice out of the telo which I thought was strange.

Thanks
Ooma Telo, Hub.
1958 was a very good year!
No cell phone , no land line- just Ooma
all my eggs in one Ooma basket
I lied- my wife has a cell, but not me!! I like my privacy and not being attached to a phone.

User avatar
cruzitude
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:11 pm

Re: Hub disconnecting the internet

Post by cruzitude » Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:58 am

I didn't think you could have a Hub and a Telo on the same connection (why would you?)

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Hub disconnecting the internet

Post by murphy » Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:17 am

If you daisy chain a hub and a Telo you must change the IP address range that one of them issues.
They both default to the same IP address range. Change the third octet of one of them from 35 to 36.
The routing is impossible if you don't.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Hub disconnecting the internet

Post by southsound » Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:38 pm

cruzitude wrote:I didn't think you could have a Hub and a Telo on the same connection (why would you?)
Murphy is right about changing the IP address. I have my system configured as follows: Actiontec modem/router > hub > FS116 switch > Telo. It works well!

As to why a person would have both, in my case I was doing some testing but have found the extra numbers to be extremely helpful. We run a small non-profit organization out of our home and it allows us to answer that org's phone with the proper greeting. Some people with teenagers will also find the ability to have multiple lines (beyond the two per device) so everyone can have their own number and be on the phone at the same time. ooma devices have a limit of two simultaneous conversations although you can have many more numbers per device. :cool:
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply