SECOND LINE & PANASONIC DECT 6.0 W/5 HANDSETS

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: SECOND LINE & PANASONIC DECT 6.0 W/5 HANDSETS

Post by murphy » Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:02 pm

oomg wrote:Now, so long as I am not using the second line that is assigned to the Scout, two separate calls can be completed on the primary line at the same time if two separate cordless systems are used. Of course, if two calls are being made at the same time on my primary number (by using separate base station cordless systems), I cannot make an outgoing call on the second number assigned to the Scout.
That's the way that it works. There are only two physical lines, hence the 1 and 2 buttons. The first call made, no matter whether it is on the shared device or the personal device, will use physical line 1. The next call made will use physical line 2.
Once both lines are in use, that's it. The next incoming call goes to voice mail.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

oomg
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:59 am
Location: SoCal -- L.A.

Re: SECOND LINE & PANASONIC DECT 6.0 W/5 HANDSETS

Post by oomg » Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:18 pm

murphy wrote:
oomg wrote:Now, so long as I am not using the second line that is assigned to the Scout, two separate calls can be completed on the primary line at the same time if two separate cordless systems are used. Of course, if two calls are being made at the same time on my primary number (by using separate base station cordless systems), I cannot make an outgoing call on the second number assigned to the Scout.
That's the way that it works. There are only two physical lines, hence the 1 and 2 buttons. The first call made, no matter whether it is on the shared device or the personal device, will use physical line 1. The next call made will use physical line 2.
Once both lines are in use, that's it. The next incoming call goes to voice mail.
Correct... but I was surprised to find out that two calls could be made over the one number (my primary number) at the same time. Does not default to the second number.
oomg -- Voice Over Internet Person

I've learned a lot here... two months ago I didn't even know how to spell VOIP and now I are one.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: SECOND LINE & PANASONIC DECT 6.0 W/5 HANDSETS

Post by murphy » Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:28 pm

oomg wrote:Correct... but I was surprised to find out that two calls could be made over the one number (my primary number) at the same time. Does not default to the second number.
That is the instant second line feature of Premier. If you don't subscribe to Premier, it will go away when the Premier trial expires.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

oomg
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:59 am
Location: SoCal -- L.A.

Re: SECOND LINE & PANASONIC DECT 6.0 W/5 HANDSETS

Post by oomg » Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:46 pm

murphy wrote:
oomg wrote:Correct... but I was surprised to find out that two calls could be made over the one number (my primary number) at the same time. Does not default to the second number.
That is the instant second line feature of Premier. If you don't subscribe to Premier, it will go away when the Premier trial expires.
Correct again... but I fully intend on continuing with Premier... may even opt for the lifetime deal.
oomg -- Voice Over Internet Person

I've learned a lot here... two months ago I didn't even know how to spell VOIP and now I are one.

amarryat
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:04 am

Re: SECOND LINE & PANASONIC DECT 6.0 W/5 HANDSETS

Post by amarryat » Fri Dec 18, 2009 4:22 am

oomg wrote:
murphy wrote:
Correct... but I was surprised to find out that two calls could be made over the one number (my primary number) at the same time. Does not default to the second number.
If you separate the numbers in my.ooma.com so that one is associated with the hub, and the other is associated with the scout, then they will act like completely separate lines. Once I got that change made, the call from the line attached to the scout always uses the second number.

Post Reply