Mac address Settings

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
JmPantalone
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Sacramento Ca.

Mac address Settings

Post by JmPantalone » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:37 am

The Mac address is set to automatic by default. Then theres the built in check box. Does anyone know if using the automatic or built in has any advantage or disadvantges from one or the other. Thanks everyone.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Mac address Settings

Post by Groundhound » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:44 am

Using built-in is better in most cases, especially if connected to a cable modem.

JmPantalone
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:23 am
Location: Sacramento Ca.

Re: Mac address Settings

Post by JmPantalone » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:50 am

Im connected through a dsl modem... before the ooma hub... with my computer connected to the home port on the ooma hub.Not sure what the difference is.

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Mac address Settings

Post by tommies » Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:58 pm

In the early days--some six months ago--this automatic cloning of MAC addresses caused a boat load of problems in home LAN with network printer, accessing Exchanger server, etc. so using the build in is must for those folks. This problem has been addressed now. However, to be on the safe side, I continue to use the build in MAC.
tommies

Post Reply