Modem Access Blocked By Telo

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Oremus
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:41 am
Location: Richmond, Virginia USA

Modem Access Blocked By Telo

Post by Oremus » Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:07 am

I have found that after configuring my network as suggested by Ooma, i.e. modem-telo-router, that I can no longer http over to my modem to access its configuration. The modem's IP address does not exist from behind the Telo, however, if I connect a laptop directly to an available modem port I can access the configuration using the IP address I previously assigned. Any suggestions to pass through the Ooma to the modem?

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Modem Access Blocked By Telo

Post by Aveamantium » Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:35 am

Put the IP assigned by the telo to the router in the telo's DMZ field. Should be able to access the config page of the Telo by going to setup.ooma.com.
Go AVS!

ifican
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:29 am

Re: Modem Access Blocked By Telo

Post by ifican » Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:55 am

is your modem set to brigde the connection or is it nat'ing and handing a nat address to the telo?

Oremus
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:41 am
Location: Richmond, Virginia USA

Re: Modem Access Blocked By Telo

Post by Oremus » Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:13 am

As I was looking at the Telo setup again I noticed that the modem's IP was not within the range of the Telo's DHCP, therefore, the Telo probably would not be able to route me to the proper IP. Reconfiguring the Telo DHCP should allow me access to the modem. If not, then the DMZ suggestion should help.

Thanks for the suggestions. They got me to slow down and let the brain register what the eyes were seeing!

Post Reply