Question about fax machine....

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
iLikeMyOoma
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:21 pm

Question about fax machine....

Post by iLikeMyOoma » Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:05 pm

I have a printer with a fax machine feature as well as a credit card swiper.

How do I setup the device so that it works through Ooma?

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Question about fax machine....

Post by hpepper » Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:12 pm

If you have the older classic hub, just make sure you use it on the hub and not the Scout. If you have a Telo, plug it into the Telo.

When you dial out, place a (*99 pause) in front of the dial string and try some faxing. If you are having difficulties, try a slower fax speed.

iLikeMyOoma
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Question about fax machine....

Post by iLikeMyOoma » Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:35 pm

Exactly what do you mean by 'pause'?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Question about fax machine....

Post by murphy » Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:43 pm

A 2 second pause in the dialing to allow the dial tone to return.
On an old modem it was done by inserting a comma in the dialing sequence.
Read your fax manual to learn how to insert a pause in the dialed number sequence.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

iLikeMyOoma
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Question about fax machine....

Post by iLikeMyOoma » Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:43 pm

Ok then. Thanks for your help.

Post Reply