Can you use the Ooma service to make while porting a number

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
anorexorcist
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:19 am

Can you use the Ooma service to make while porting a number

Post by anorexorcist » Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:24 am

Hi
I just purchased the ooma telo service but have not yet activated it. Before activating I just wanted to ask a question on the forum. I'm considering porting my current number to Ooma. I know during the port process I must keep my current telephone service/account active.

My question is, during the port process, can I actually use the Ooma service to make calls? If so, what phone number would I have...would i be given some kind of temp number?

OR would I not be able to use Ooma to make calls until the port process is complete?

I'm just a bit confused on this issue...perhaps someone who has ported their number can give me some info?

Thanks

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Can you use the Ooma service to make while porting a number

Post by hpepper » Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:29 am

Yes - you would be given a temp number that you will choose from available numbers in your area code. Once the port is complete, the temp number becomes your second number and you will keep it as long as you have Premiere service. If you drop Premiere service, the temp number goes away.

anorexorcist
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:19 am

Re: Can you use the Ooma service to make while porting a number

Post by anorexorcist » Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:34 am

Hey, thanks so much for the super fast reply. I really appreciate it. That's what I needed to know.
I was planning on going with the premier service too so its good to know that the temp number becomes your second number.

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Can you use the Ooma service to make while porting a number

Post by murphy » Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:36 am

If you are going to port your number, do not select to integrate with your land line during activation.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Can you use the Ooma service to make while porting a number

Post by hpepper » Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:37 am

...and almost forgot... Welcome to Ooma, the forum and the happy group of people that don't send money to their phone companies anymore! :cool:

anorexorcist
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:19 am

Re: Can you use the Ooma service to make while porting a number

Post by anorexorcist » Fri Oct 02, 2009 9:11 am

I'm happy to join the club :D
Thanks for the tip, Murphy.

Post Reply