Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
cullop1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:47 am

Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by cullop1 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:55 am

I have a Motorola Integrated Modem/Router. It connects by ethernet to the modem port on ooma hub. The phone is connected to the phone port. The telephone jack is connected to the wall port. It will not recognize the hub on the ooma network or the phone line. I currently have cable phone service thru suddenlink. They say there is nothing blocking it by them. Help!

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by Groundhound » Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:03 am

What color and which lights on the hub are lit?

cullop1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:47 am

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by cullop1 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:09 pm

Red lights. 1 and 2 and of course the ooma tab. I have the wall line on a splitter with the cable phone system.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:30 pm

Make sure you power cycle the modem/router, then the ooma hub.

Connect a pc or a laptop to the ooma hub.
Go to http://setup.ooma.com
If you can bring up the page check the HOME page and let us know what the results are.
Go to the Status page and see if your router assigned an ip to the ooma hub.

Not sure why you have the WALL port connected, but you might want to disconnect this until you have connection to the hub.

Wayne

cullop1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:47 am

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by cullop1 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:04 pm

Device Status - Rev: 16732.16732

Network

MODEM: Connected : [192.168.0.2]
HOME: Connected : [172.27.35.1]

Ooma Tunnel: Disconnected

Services

Telephony: 49 - Running

DNS: 45 - Running

Web Server: 46 - Running

VPN: 3354 - Running

Free: 39820


Home
Your ooma Network is Registering, please wait...

Internet: Connected
Ooma Core: Registering, please wait...

Phone Line: No phone line detected, check the phone line is properly connected.

Ooma Services

Phone Setup: We are waiting for your phone line to be configured for the ooma network
Second Line: Enabled

Voice Mail: Enabled

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by niknak » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:13 pm


Ooma Tunnel: Disconnected
Make sure that the MAC address of the device is the exact address you used when you registered the hub...note that B & 8 and D & 0 look very similar, use a magnifying glass if necessary to make sure

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:17 pm

Did you register the ooma hub WITH a landline or WITHOUT?
Do you have a Temp ooma number or are you using your landline number?

Wayne

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by hpepper » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:18 pm

Could it be this hub was configred to be used with a landline and it doesn't see the landline is causing problems?

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by tommies » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:24 pm

According to ooma user guide
[1] & [2] are solid red: The ooma Hub is unable to register to the ooma network.
Wayne and Hpepper
[Play] & [Forward] are solid red: When using the ooma system with a landline, the ooma Hub is unable to detect if a phone line is plugged in.
Please double check your activation code, and look out for a couple of confusing pair of B/8 and D/0. Unfortunately, there is no way to verify the activation code for now. If it's the case, you need to call CS to have them correct it.

For now, I would try to power cycle the hub one more time and let it update the firmware to the latest--mine shows
Device Status - Rev: 27712.27712
tommies

cullop1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:47 am

Re: Not Registering with Ooma network and not recognizing phone

Post by cullop1 » Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:00 pm

I finally got the blue light, however I turned off the firewall on my modem/router to do it. Any suggestions?

Post Reply