How the heck do I bypass my modem's firewall?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
grh26
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 6:44 pm

How the heck do I bypass my modem's firewall?

Post by grh26 » Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:03 pm

I recently installed Ooma and it is working great as long as I turn the firewall off on my modem. As soon as I turn it on (even on the low setting) the Ooma tab starts blinking red.

My set up is as follows -

- The cable from the wall (I have Comcast) is connected to a Motorola integrated modem/wireless router.
- I have an ethernet cable connecting the modem/router to the Ooma hub and my phone is connected to the Ooma.

I know how to type the modem's IP address into the browser bar and I've found the place where I can set up custom firewall settings. What I don't know is 1) what protocol does the Ooma use? (IP, UDP, TCP) 2) what ports does the Ooma use? 3) what protocol number do I enter?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: How the heck do I bypass my modem's firewall?

Post by Groundhound » Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:36 pm

In your modem/router, assign a static IP address to the hub, this is usually done by associating the hub's MAC address with the IP you want to assign. Reboot the router and the hub. Next, put that IP address into your router's DMZ.

grh26
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 6:44 pm

Re: How the heck do I bypass my modem's firewall?

Post by grh26 » Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:57 pm

Worked! Thanks a ton!

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: How the heck do I bypass my modem's firewall?

Post by Groundhound » Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:01 pm

Glad you got it working, welcome to the Ooma Forums!

Post Reply