Flashing red tab

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
dan92075
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:07 am

Flashing red tab

Post by dan92075 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:19 am

This is my second ooma installation - the first was for my parents and was very easy.

Following the same procedure in my house, on the tab I am getting a triple red blink followed by solid red, and then few second later a double red blink followed by several seconds of off (and then cycle repeats).

Some more observations:

1) If I press the tab, no other red lights turn on
2) I rechecked connections a zillion times - when I plug in the modem into MODEM line as well as the linksys router into HOME line, I get green lights, so it appears ooma is getting a LAN signal
3) Internet connection doesn't work
4) Alternatively, I tried connecting MODEM into one of the router ports, although that preserved the internet, ooma still does not work.

So I am thinking there are two possibilities:
a) Is ooma not registered successfully?
b) Do I have a bad box?

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Flashing red tab

Post by murphy » Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:33 am

Double check the MAC address. It's very easy to confuse an 8 and a B.
If you got it wrong, you will have to call them to get it corrected.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Flashing red tab

Post by bw1 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:37 am

Can you connect to http://setup.ooma.com ?

You need to have a PC (or router with 1 or more PC's) connected to the Home port on the Ooma hub.

Post Reply