When I terminate another ooma user's call, does it hurt DSL?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
jxxbrown
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:13 pm

When I terminate another ooma user's call, does it hurt DSL?

Post by jxxbrown » Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:09 pm

OK, if I understand the ooma model, they need to have some number of us plugging into the POTS network so that they don't have to pay termination fees for the outbound calls.

So when I'm not using my ooma and someone wants to terminate a call in my area, am I carrying the heavy VOIP load on my network? In other words, am I going to be seeing significant degradation not only when I am using the ooma but also when y'all are using my ooma?

Just came to mind.....

Thanks.

- Jeff

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: When I terminate another ooma user's call, does it hurt DSL?

Post by southsound » Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:16 pm

I'm lazy so I'll just cut and paste my answer to a similar question you posted in another thread:

Actually, ooma has not done that for years. The idea was scrapped for a lot of reasons. ooma does not need your landline - in fact, the only calls that would ever go over a connected landline are calls that you yourself make. Other user's calls NEVER will use your line for termination. Many of us use the system without any connection to the wall port.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: When I terminate another ooma user's call, does it hurt DSL?

Post by bw1 » Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:45 am


Post Reply