Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#110070 by shacky4
Mon May 20, 2013 4:57 am
I have been using Ooma Telo for several months now and am very happy. My old router would need occasional restarts for wireless connectivity and was a few years old so I decided to replace it with what I perceived to be about the best out there, the Apple Airport Extreme. I am having some problems, here is my setup.

Cable modem to Ooma. Ooma to Airport Extreme, Airport Extreme ethernet cables to two computers and to an additional wireless router (Linksys) in a distant part of the house. The Linksys and the Airport both have the same ssid and I want the Airport to distribute the ip addresses. The Linksys is set to be bridge.

I believe that some of the problems come from the Airport using 10.0.1.1 as the beginning ip. When I set it to distribute a range of ip addresses, it reports problems, including; No DNS Servers, Router Address, DHCP Beginning Address, DHCP Ending Address, and subnet mask. Whew! That's a lot of problems!

Can anybody please walk me through who to set this up?
#110835 by neptune2000
Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:27 pm
I did nothing different than the 3 steps in the installation:

1. Plug the Ooma Internet into one of the wired connectors on the back of the AirPort Extreme
2. Plug the phone cable from my phone base station into the ooma
3. Power up the ooma

Waited a while for a firmware update. 15 minutes later system was up and running and has been ever since.

Notice the extreme is connected with a cable modem from TWC. Tha AirPort Extreme is using the 10.0.1.1 and provides DHCP service to over 20 devices in my home.
#110842 by rpiotro
Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:38 am
Since the Ooma is connected to the modem it is doing the NAT and DHCP. You are doing double NAT in your configuration. I say that is a no-no even though I will get dissent for that statement.

Simply put the Airport in "Bridge Mode". That is why that option is there.