Open line when installing whole house?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Gronilot
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:05 am

Open line when installing whole house?

Post by Gronilot » Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:21 am

I am trying to install Ooma so that all my phones use Ooma.

Previously I had phone service through Cox Cable. My house was built in 1955.

I unhooked wires from box on outside of house:

When I plug in Ooma to phone port to wall- on all other phones it sounds like there is an open line. After a few minutes it makes the sound that the phone company puts out when you have an un-hung up phone. On all of the ports that I plug a phone to- and it sounds very distant. I have unpluged all phone in house, but it still is doing this.

Here are photos of my phone box that I disconnected lines from. The only wire that is hooked up is to the center hub and I believe it is the lightning ground wire.

Image
Image

Does anyone have any suggestions?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Open line when installing whole house?

Post by murphy » Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:30 am

The outside looks fine.
I would expect Cox cable phone service to interface via the cable modem.
Did you disconnect the phone wiring from the Cox cable modem?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Gronilot
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:05 am

Re: Open line when installing whole house?

Post by Gronilot » Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:06 pm

That was it!


Thanks so much Murphy!

I unplugged the phone line from cable box - I didn't even remember it was back there.

I really appreciate it.

Post Reply