How to dissconect land line

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Bob K
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:13 pm

How to dissconect land line

Post by Bob K » Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:22 am

My Ooma Telo works well. I would like to disconnect my PacBell land line and use the other phones in the house
through the Ooma. I went to /homedistribution and there was no guidance for this proceedure.
I have a multimeter and I know how to use it. I just don't know the color codes and what test I should perform
on which wire to ensure I do not hook up the PacBell ring voltage. I like my Ooma, I don't want to fry it.
Anyone?

Thank you

Bob K

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: How to dissconect land line

Post by thunderbird » Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:53 am


User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: How to dissconect land line

Post by lbmofo » Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:35 pm

This thread will tell you what you need to know. viewtopic.php?t=13354

For most people, just go out the NID, unplug the modular plugs.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Bob K
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:13 pm

Re: How to dissconect land line

Post by Bob K » Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:13 pm

Thank you so much for the link(s). The last one was most infomative
and allowed me to perform the required disconnections and to document
what I did for later options. My other phones now work properly .
Next, I need to set the number of rings before the answering machine
on the Ooma picks up to be greater than the number of rings on the houses'
answering machine so that the main answering machine picks up the call
before the Ooma device.
Tomorrow.

You guys rock!

Bob K

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: How to dissconect land line

Post by lbmofo » Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:54 pm

That would be in my.ooma.com Preferences Voicemail

https://my.ooma.com/voicemail

Voicemail Pick-up Time
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Bob K
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:13 pm

Re: How to dissconect land line

Post by Bob K » Tue Nov 27, 2012 4:30 pm

I have sucessfully disconnected my phone service at the box.
Thank you, the link was invaluable. My whole house phone service
is fully operational. I think, I still need to call in and test the main
answering machine. I have the Ooma set to 5 rings and the house answering machine set to 4 rings
so that ought to do it.

Thanks again,
Sincerely,
Bob K

Post Reply