Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#100688 by DavidH
Sun Sep 23, 2012 6:19 pm
Hello all -

I am just starting out, and I thought I'd try the basic modem->ooma->router setup. Then I realized that I'm not sure that will work.

My current setup is with a Zyxel modem/wireless router combo unit, but I use it in bridge mode because I don't like the wireless capabilities of the unit. So my setup is modem(in bridge mode) -> router does the ppp login.

If I put the ooma between them, it doesn't work (which seems expected) so is there any way I can set things up this way?

The good news is that the router I bought is a Netgear WNDR3700 and it's awesome. So, I think I might have even better results using the Netgear QOS to make sure the Oooma device gets good throughput than I would with the Ooma device itself.

But, am I missing anything about how Ooma works? Is there any special reason that the Ooma device wants to be between the modem and the home network, or is it just so that it can apply QoS to it's benefit???

thanks! Dave
#100691 by Leeway
Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:28 pm
The Telo does not have to go between modem and router. Actually I think the majority of us have the best results with modem-router-Telo. I don't play with bridge mode so I can't be any help there but believe me there are plenty here who are experts and will surely arrive at a better hour.

Don't worry too much about QOS until you see how it all works. You will be amazed !!

And welcome to Ooma ! This forum is a huge help.

Donna
#100697 by jblock312
Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:19 am
The Telo can do PPPoE authentication. It is on the "Internet" tab of the setup page.
You could try Telo after the modem and then after the router and see which works better for you.
Mine works best modem-telo-router with PPPoE authentication on the modem. I just had to tweak the upstream qos a little from the default. Downstream is set to 0.
#100698 by WayneDsr
Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:32 am