power outage/restarting

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
legendsguy
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:42 am

power outage/restarting

Post by legendsguy » Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:31 am

Hey All,

We had a power outage yesterday. Everything is restored now but my ooma won't go blue for me. I have unplugged it several times, I have unplugged the cable box and still nothing. The cable modem is working.

I have the 1,2,trash, mail box all lit up. Any ideas how to get it up and running again?

Doug

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:35 am

Try factory reseting the ooma hub.

1) Remove the power for the ooma device

2) Hold down the ooma tab [blue light] connect the power and hold for 30 secs until all the lights start flashing and once the flashing of all lights are done release the tab and the device will reset to factory settings.

Wayne

legendsguy
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:42 am

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by legendsguy » Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:14 am

Just tried it, didn't work

legendsguy
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:42 am

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by legendsguy » Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:18 am

After I hold the tab down for 30 seconds, the light that are lit up are 1, 2 ,trash can and >> button.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:05 am

Do you have ooma WITH and landline? If so you might want to see if your landline is operational.

Wayne

legendsguy
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:42 am

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by legendsguy » Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:08 am

No landline

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:13 am

How is your setup?
modem-->ooma-->router
or
modem-->router-->ooma

Either way, for the moment, anyway, shut everything off. Turn your modem on and let it connect. Turn on your router/ooma. Let everything connect. Do you have internet?

Wayne

legendsguy
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:42 am

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by legendsguy » Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:56 am

Thanks for your help Wayne. It is modem>ooma
Yes, the internet is working. I will try shutting it all off and see what happens.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:11 am

Also, connect a laptop or a pc to the HOME port on the ooma hub.
See if you can browse the internet from that point.

Then go to setup.ooma.com and let me know what the status is on the home page.

Wayne

legendsguy
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:42 am

Re: power outage/restarting

Post by legendsguy » Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:25 am

tried powering off everything, still nothing.

I have the computer connected to the home port now.

It tells me Ooma is registering, please wait

Post Reply