Need help disconnecting landline

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
jstahl
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by jstahl » Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:32 pm

Will do. Should I reconnect the wires that I originally cut (the two blue and the two blue-white) or won't that matter?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by lbmofo » Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:35 pm

If you get dialtone on every walljack, then, there is no need to reconnect any wires. But if you lose dialtone on any walljack, that means, you may have to reconnect some wires. General rule is ring to ring and tip to tip (all ring tie together and all tip tie together when you have multiple sets of wire bunches).
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

jstahl
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by jstahl » Sat Jun 09, 2012 1:04 pm

You won't believe this, LB but I've unhooked every single wire from the black line and the black line ITSELF and I STILL have a dialtone!!! I think, at this point, I am going to have to forgo being able to use Ooma through my wall jacks. I just don't have the expertise to figure this stuff out.

I can't thank you enough, though, for your time and patience in replying to my posts. It's much appreciated.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by murphy » Sat Jun 09, 2012 1:49 pm

Who is your old phone company?
It's starting to sound like it's a cable company.
In that case you go to the cable company cable modem and disconnect the phone line from the back of the modem.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

jstahl
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by jstahl » Sat Jun 09, 2012 4:37 pm

Wow, that was embarrassing. It's funny how you get something in your head about traditional phone service your entire life so my first thought when talking about "landlines" was to look at the service box on the house. Never even thought of my modem where my phone signal was coming from. Well, in any case, I learned something and hopefully others will benefit from my stupidity when reading this thread. At the very least, it's sure to generate a few laughs!

Thank you, LB.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by lbmofo » Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:17 pm

No worries. murphy pointed out the cable phone possibility. I was thinking the same thing but doubted it since if your number is with a cable company, it should be able to port out. Check on portability again.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

jstahl
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by jstahl » Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:58 am

Yeah, I live in a somewhat rural area north of Pittsburgh and the cable company (Armstrong) is a local one and rather small so it didn't surprise me when I found out I couldn't port.

Thanks again for all your help (and Murphy's).

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by highq » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:06 pm

jstahl wrote:Yeah, I live in a somewhat rural area north of Pittsburgh and the cable company (Armstrong) is a local one and rather small so it didn't surprise me when I found out I couldn't port.
I am under the apprehension that the FCC mandate for number portabuility covers all carriers. What makes Armstronag exempt?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by lbmofo » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:31 pm

I am not sure whether this non portability is due to Ooma carrier not having agreements in place but there are rural/mom-pop outfits that are still exempt from FCC port mandate.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

jstahl
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Need help disconnecting landline

Post by jstahl » Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:39 am

Here is the bulk of the email response I received from Ooma:

"...it does appear that your number remains not portable at this time due to lack of coverage. By lack of coverage we mean that our carriers do not have any Inter Connect Agreements with the rate centers/carriers in your area. In the vast majority of cases, porting a phone number is not a problem. However, there are circumstances (like yours) where we don't have a connection to the rate center. In those rare instances we cannot port a number to us. These agreements are typically harder to obtain in smaller, more rural areas. You may navigate to the following page if you'd like more information on inter connect agreements. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interconnect_agreement.

Post Reply