Connecting Ooma to phone jacks

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
WalterB
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:21 pm

Connecting Ooma to phone jacks

Post by WalterB » Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:28 pm

I opened the junction box and the jack inside the box was disconnected. I had Comcast previously and they have their own sealed box. Do I need to get Comcast to come out and open their box to disconnect from phone jacks?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Connecting Ooma to phone jacks

Post by lbmofo » Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:52 pm

When you had comcast (phone service?), did they plug a phone cord from thier modem to one of your walljacks and you got comcast dialtone throughout the house? If so, just use the same walljack their dialtone used to feed to and you'd be set. Just make sure no comcast component is still feeding anything to your house phone wires.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

WalterB
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:21 pm

Re: Connecting Ooma to phone jacks

Post by WalterB » Sat Jun 02, 2012 1:19 pm

Thanks a lot! That worked.

Post Reply