Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#94986 by bmccollum
Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:16 pm
Tried to replace my long-standing Buffalo Tech WZR-HP-G300NH wireless router that I've been using for several years, with a new Linksys EA4500 wireless router.

Everything connected to the new router both via Ethernet cable and wirelessly works fine, with the exception of the Ooma Telo, which has its red light on the unit blinking.

When I disconnect the new router and reconnect the previous router (Buffalo Tech), the Ooma Telo once again functions perfectly.

Repeat again with the connection of the new router (Linksys) and the Ooma Telo once again blinks red and doesn't function.

The Buffalo Tech router's IP address is 192.168.11.1.

The new Linksys router's IP address is 192.168.1.1.

Could the difference in the IP addresses from one router to another be the sole source of the issue here?

The "old" Buffalo Tech router is the only router the Ooma Telo has ever been connected to, so I don't have any previous experience of reconfiguring the Ooma Telo to work with a new router.

Any suggestions on what to do to try to remedy this?

Many thanks in advance for any suggestions you may have.
#94987 by dknyinva
Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:42 am
red blinking indicating the Telo is attempting to communicate outbound. Couple of suggestions, but the easiest in your case is try to change the IP address of the new Linksys router to 192.168.11.1 and plug everything in again.

Good luck
#94988 by thunderbird
Tue Apr 17, 2012 3:58 am
bmccollum wrote:Tried to replace my long-standing Buffalo Tech WZR-HP-G300NH wireless router that I've been using for several years, with a new Linksys EA4500 wireless router.

Everything connected to the new router both via Ethernet cable and wirelessly works fine, with the exception of the Ooma Telo, which has its red light on the unit blinking.