Trouble registering a used handset

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
pat
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA

Trouble registering a used handset

Post by pat » Sat Apr 07, 2012 12:02 am

I recently purchased an Ooma Telo Air device and have been using it successfully with my Uniden cordless handsets. I recently purchased a used Telo handset on eBay. But the base seems to be ignoring the handset or vice versa. I have my 4 digit number to register the handset, but when I press the broadcast icon on the Telo base unit and get it flashing, and after I power on the handset, the handset just continuously says "Searching"; I never get prompted to enter my 4-digit number. Does anyone know what might be wrong? :cry:
Costco Ooma Telo Air + Premier
2 Ooma handsets (HD1)
Premier service with at least 1 Ooma handset is worth it: I've already taken an important second call while my wife was on the phone, without putting anyone on hold. :-)

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Trouble registering a used handset

Post by murphy » Sat Apr 07, 2012 2:30 am

It's already registered to a different Telo and needs to be factory reset.

Push and hold the red button until it turns off.
Press and hold the antenna button on the Telo base to put it into registration mode.

Press and hold the left soft key (above the green key) and the zero key. Then press and release the red key. After the handset turns on you can release the left soft key and the zero key.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

pat
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Trouble registering a used handset

Post by pat » Sat Apr 07, 2012 7:36 am

THANKS MURPHY! YOU'RE SOLUTION WORKED LIKE A CHARM! :)
Costco Ooma Telo Air + Premier
2 Ooma handsets (HD1)
Premier service with at least 1 Ooma handset is worth it: I've already taken an important second call while my wife was on the phone, without putting anyone on hold. :-)

md1207
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:41 am

Re: Trouble registering a used handset

Post by md1207 » Wed May 02, 2012 4:56 pm

Thank you so much for the factory reset information. My old telo died and I just got another one but the handset wouldn't register. I had the same problem as the above person. Why is this information listed nowhere in the manual for the handset or elsewhere on the website. Thank heaven for google. You instructions fixed my problem and I'm eternally grateful. :!:

Post Reply