Anyone using surge protection for Telo?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
oostburg
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:49 am

Anyone using surge protection for Telo?

Post by oostburg » Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:52 am

I keep reading about failed Telo units, and notice that some say to use a surge protector. What are people using? Does this make sense? What about protection through the network connection? I really do not want to spend another $200 is I can avoid it!!

harry12
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:09 pm

Re: Anyone using surge protection for Telo?

Post by harry12 » Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:06 pm

While this isn't strictly on your topic, I'd like to mention that I use a surge protector with my Hub. Both power and telephone line run through the SP. If nothing else, it makes me feel better.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Anyone using surge protection for Telo?

Post by lbmofo » Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:20 pm

I put my modem, router, ooma, dect 6 phone base on UPS.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7620&start=10#p84768
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Anyone using surge protection for Telo?

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:22 pm

All my network electronics including ooma run through my UPS. I don't think a simple surge protector by itself is enough for any electronic equipment.
It's better than nothing, not much better.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

dsinternet
Posts: 852
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Anyone using surge protection for Telo?

Post by dsinternet » Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:50 pm

I also use an UPS for my modem, router, and Ooma. I got a cheap one from Amazon for around $40. I feel better knowing my equipment will still stay on for a few mins after the power goes out. Most power failures only last a few seconds so this is a good solution for me. Spend a few dollars, look for the good ratings, and get a cheap UPS.

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Anyone using surge protection for Telo?

Post by tommies » Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:56 pm

I have cable modem, router, and telo on UPS. Also, the phone line from telo goes through the sp on the UPS before connecting to the house wiring, so does the incoming cable before connected to the modem.

I have my telo around Sep 09, and it keeps running well.

PS. I have a Uniden Dect. 6.0 cordless phone with a corded base, which keeps it base function when power down. With this setup, I have my phone working even with power outage for a short time.
tommies

Post Reply