Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#87389 by junie
Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:53 am
I am using one phone jack for my modem/router but there are 2 others in my apartment I would like to use with my old school phones. How do I do that? I have not tried plugging them in because I read somewhere that you had to check with your phone company to see if ?? had been disconnected. I am not very tech savvy and did not quite understand what they were talking about. Can someone clue me in on this whole process. The article also said if you tried to use the other jacks without checking on this ?? with the phone company you could damage your ooma.
#87395 by lbmofo
Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:09 am
If it was me, I'd just use the multi-handset DECT 6.0 phones in my Apt. Even if you figure out where to disconnect your unit from the telephone company (you really can't fully disconnect since it sounds like you have DSL?), there is a chance someone might mess with that and hook you back up again; this may damage your Ooma (unless where you disconnect is inside your apt).

With that said, if you can find where your apt wiring is connected to the telephone company and make sure you have your 2nd pair not connected to the phone company, you can make use of the L1, L2, L1+L2 splitters everywhere you want to have the old school phone accessing Ooma dialtone. Plug these splitters into your walljack in the apt, L1 would have your DSL so modem plugs into L1. You feed Ooma's "phone" port into L2 and you'd have these splitters by your old school phones and have the phones plug into L2. More info: viewtopic.php?t=10553#p73638
#87397 by junie
Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:41 am
Thanks lbmofo for once again coming to my aid. If it makes any difference I have dry loop stand alone dsl. I will read the link you posted and see what info I can gather from my phone company.......not expecting too much from them, they are useless.