Power Switch

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
pdvigil
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:13 pm

Power Switch

Post by pdvigil » Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:49 pm

Ok, hopefully this is not just an ignorant question.

WHERE IS THE POWER BUTTON??

I read the instructions & inspected the unit, but do not need a power button. I notice that by cycling through the brightness button I can get the lights to turn off, but I don't think that really is powering the unit down. I'm currently in a holding pattern waiting for my number to port & don't really need the Ooma service operational until after the port is processed.

I noticed that the unit gets a little warm, and under the assumption that if I power it down it will extend the life of the unit, I'm just trying to shut it off until the port goes through.

I realize I can unplug the unit, but it seems like there would be a power button on the unit. Also, If that is the only way to power it down, if I unplug it does the Ethernet signal pass through with the unit off?

So 3 questions, actually:

1) Is there a power button?
2) By cycling the brightness button & at the point the lights are all off on the display, is the unit powered off
3) If the unit is powered off, does the Ethernet signal pass through?

Thanks Folks.. ;)

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Power Switch

Post by lbmofo » Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:26 pm

pdvigil wrote:1) Is there a power button? No
2) By cycling the brightness button & at the point the lights are all off on the display, is the unit powered off No
3) If the unit is powered off, does the Ethernet signal pass through? Yes
As for keeping things cool, check this out: viewtopic.php?t=8227#p71291
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

pdvigil
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:13 pm

Re: Power Switch

Post by pdvigil » Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:48 am

Thanks!

pdvigil
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:13 pm

Re: Power Switch

Post by pdvigil » Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:36 am

"Re: Power Switch

Postby lbmofo » Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:26 pm

pdvigil wrote:1) Is there a power button? No
2) By cycling the brightness button & at the point the lights are all off on the display, is the unit powered off No
3) If the unit is powered off, does the Ethernet signal pass through? Yes"

Sorry ibmofo,

I just tested your answer to 3) above & no dice.....I unplugged the Ooma Telo from the back, which apparently the only way to power off the unit, and lost my link. At least in my configuration where the Telo is between the modem and the router. When I unplugged it in addition to the Telo being off, the link light on my modem went out and I lost internet access. When I plugged it back in, after Telo re-booted, my link was reestablished.

Thanks for the link for the cooling idea...

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Power Switch

Post by lbmofo » Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:24 am

pdvigil, my bad on 3). You're right.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply