Porting an exsisting ooma telephone number to another Telo

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
electriclm
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:45 am

Porting an exsisting ooma telephone number to another Telo

Post by electriclm » Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:34 am

I tried porting an ooma telephone number, which is the seconond number on telo number one, to another telo as the main number of that telo (number two). It was rejected as already a ooma number. How can I get this done?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Porting an exsisting ooma telephone number to another Telo

Post by murphy » Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:43 am

Call customer support.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Porting an exsisting ooma telephone number to another Telo

Post by Bobby B » Mon Jun 27, 2011 12:28 pm

murphy wrote:Call customer support.
Yes you'll need to call support - you shouldn't initiate number ports if you're moving Ooma numbers between existing Ooma accounts.
Bobby B

Post Reply