Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#71838 by pdmjr
Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:24 am
Hi all - I purchased the ooma a couple of months ago and just plugged it into the back of my action tec modem/router which also went to the apple airport extreme. In the back of that I had a universal devices ISY 99 for home automation. The ISY has the ability to work locally on my network and to work through the internet. I tried to set this up but had no luck and left everything as is until I had more time to deal with this.

That time has come and as I am a pure novice at this I have encountered many problems now with the ooma. The first thing I did was get a static ip from my provider (qwest) so I would not have to deal with changing ip addresses. Next I got a new action tec modem only (no router) but found it still issued ip addresses so after talking with action tec was able to have the ip address pass through the modem, I believe bridge mode is what they called it, onto the airport extreme.

I then did a reboot of the airport extreme and configured it. Everything was great until I tried to put the ooma into the system - no dice. In reading the info here the info says the ooma sends out ip addresses and I did not want that so I called ooma and they basically told me tough luck on helping me configure it. I then went to the forums and read a little and thunderbird was telling a user how to configure for behind the router. Funny thing that the user he was helping was very frustrated with ooma also! I used the set up as he described it and was able to get up and running again.