Changing Installation

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
farmer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:00 am

Changing Installation

Post by farmer » Thu Dec 30, 2010 2:24 pm

I bought a telo with hopes of getting rid of my landline so I registered it using my landline phone#. I have decided I cannot give up my landline to receive calls and I am thinking re-installing it as below. Please let me know if that would work.

My house is already setup as split wires for 2 lines.
Purchase a 2-line expandable cordless system. Only old wired phones will use line 1(Verizon)
verizon will be line1
talo will be line 2
connect Talo tall plug to my secondary line that is not connected to verizon.

have Ooma change my primary number to another number instead of my verizon#.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Changing Installation

Post by southsound » Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:06 pm

Sounds like a great plan. Many of us use both an ooma system and a landline. Separating the two is easy - just call ooma at 888 711-6662 and tell them you want to have them configure your Telo to use an ooma number. They can make the change while you are on the line. Landline integration adds a lot of extra problems for the Telo and I think you will be very happy with the new configuration. We don't use 2-line phones (alright, I'm too cheap to buy them) but have two identical sets of Uniden DECT 6 multi-handset phones. We put stickers on one set to tell the landline from the ooma.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply