Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option - NOW AVAILABLE

If you have a great idea for Ooma Office or have a specific feature request, share it here.
DIA
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 6:59 am

Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option - NOW AVAILABLE

Post by DIA » Mon May 20, 2013 4:47 pm

In our office, we like to have a live body answer the phone if at all possible. However, when that isn't possible, the virtual receptionist with options for the caller to be transferred to a specific extension is not a bad backup option. However, I don't see a way to configure Ooma Office to work in this manner currently.

We currently have the system set up so incoming calls go to a ring group that rings three extensions. If none of them pick up, then the call goes to a general extension that has a voice mail enabled. What I'd like to see is the option to have the call go to the virtual receptionist if none of the extensions in the ring group answer rather than being dumped to a generic voice mail box.

If there is a way to accomplish what I want currently, please advise how I can do it. Otherwise, please consider adding this capability as soon as possible. We can't be the only small office that would like to see the system work in this manner.

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option

Post by Dennis P » Mon May 20, 2013 9:38 pm

DIA wrote:In our office, we like to have a live body answer the phone if at all possible. However, when that isn't possible, the virtual receptionist with options for the caller to be transferred to a specific extension is not a bad backup option. However, I don't see a way to configure Ooma Office to work in this manner currently.

We currently have the system set up so incoming calls go to a ring group that rings three extensions. If none of them pick up, then the call goes to a general extension that has a voice mail enabled. What I'd like to see is the option to have the call go to the virtual receptionist if none of the extensions in the ring group answer rather than being dumped to a generic voice mail box.

If there is a way to accomplish what I want currently, please advise how I can do it. Otherwise, please consider adding this capability as soon as possible. We can't be the only small office that would like to see the system work in this manner.
It's a good idea and, if I recall correctly, one that was brought up in our beta tests. We plan to add this option in the near future.

mpaul
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 1:00 pm

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option

Post by mpaul » Tue May 21, 2013 1:12 pm

I agree with DIA. I am in the process of setting up the base station right now for our new business, and I would really appreciate the option to have the Virtual Receptionist answer if not picked up by designated extensions.

Tuan
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:37 pm

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option

Post by Tuan » Tue May 21, 2013 2:51 pm

I posted this elsewhere before the Ooma Office Forum was created.

I'd like to request Ooma place this highly desired feature the top of their to-do list. This is a basic feature that every small business needs. When no one is available to answer the phone, virtual receptionist should answer the calls and tell callers we're busy and give them options to be: 1. On hold 2. Leave a voicemail 3. Ring an extension (e.g. cell phone).

If it's after hours, then virtually receptionist tells caller it's after hours and give options 2 and 3 above.

sfooma
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 7:36 am

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option

Post by sfooma » Sun May 26, 2013 1:07 pm

I would like to add my vote for this option.
I don't know how many replies you need before a suggestion is implemented, but I agree that this suggestion should be moved to the top of the list.
Small business survives on the personal touch. A live voice answering the phone is imperative.
Dennis, I hope the near future is not too far off.

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option

Post by Dennis P » Wed May 29, 2013 1:00 pm

sfooma wrote:I would like to add my vote for this option.
I don't know how many replies you need before a suggestion is implemented, but I agree that this suggestion should be moved to the top of the list.
Small business survives on the personal touch. A live voice answering the phone is imperative.
Dennis, I hope the near future is not too far off.
I hear you...It is definitely near the top of our list in terms of features to add.

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option

Post by Dennis P » Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:53 am

Just to close the loop on this, we have recently added this feature. Under the "advanced" tab, you can select what action you want to take after the ring group times out. You can transfer the call to another extension on the system (like the virtual receptionist), or transfer directly to one of your voicemail accounts.

DIA
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 6:59 am

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option - NOW AVAILABLE

Post by DIA » Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:51 pm

I just set this up and it does indeed work the way I was hoping for. Thank you OOMA!

tolousn
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 6:53 pm

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option - NOW AVAILABLE

Post by tolousn » Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:40 pm

Just to open this loop back up... :)
Where exactly are the advanced settings? I do not see it anywhere on any of the pages.

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Virtual Receptionist as Backup Option - NOW AVAILABLE

Post by Bobby B » Fri Jul 19, 2013 8:59 am

To access the advanced ring group settings:

1. Goto the extensions page
2. Click the "Gear" icon to edit the ring group extension
3. Click the "Advanced" tab to access the settings
tolousn wrote:Just to open this loop back up... :)
Where exactly are the advanced settings? I do not see it anywhere on any of the pages.
Bobby B

Post Reply