ooma mobile - multiple phone numbers

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
darindf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:40 pm

ooma mobile - multiple phone numbers

Post by darindf » Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:47 pm

I have ooma with 2 phone numbers, one for the hub and one for the scout. When I use ooma mobile, I can only get the number for the hub, the number for the scout doesn't show up. Does anyone know why the scout phone number is unavailable for use with ooma mobile?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: ooma mobile - multiple phone numbers

Post by lbmofo » Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:49 pm

Is it a private number assigned to the hub where you are logging into my ooma using a separate account?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

darindf
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 6:40 pm

Re: ooma mobile - multiple phone numbers

Post by darindf » Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:55 am

The scout is an extension of the hub. The hub is on a premiere account. With a hub you can attach one or more scouts, which allow you to connect another phone to your system, basically it provides a telco jack to connect your phone to. That part isn't too exciting, but the scout also allows one to assign it a 2nd phone number to it (note this is a feature with the premiere plan), so you end up with 2 phone lines, one phone number goes to the hub and the 2nd phone number goes to the scout. This is marketed so that you can have home/office, parent/children, with each having separate phone lines.

So given that my ooma account has 2 phone numbers associated with it, one phone number for the premiere/hub, and another phone number for the scout, one would think I have 2 phone numbers that I could use with ooma mobile, after all when I look at "my ooma" web page, it shows me the 2 phone numbers (plus to which device they are attached to) when I look under the preferences, phone numbers tab (which is just above the ooma mobile tab), but when I go to the ooma mobile tab it only shows one phone number, which is the hub phone number.

So the question remains, under 1 tab, I see 2 phone numbers for my ooma account, but then under ooma mobile tab, only one number shows up. So can multiple numbers be used with ooma mobile? Note it may not be all this important at this stage, but when incoming calls is enabled, it certainly will.

ntoy

Re: ooma mobile - multiple phone numbers

Post by ntoy » Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:11 am

Hello,


Currently, Ooma mobile can only use the main number on the account(excludes other numbers or private numbers in the acct). Being able to use other numbers on the account is something considered in the future.

jthphoto
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:04 am

Re: ooma mobile - multiple phone numbers

Post by jthphoto » Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:45 am

I use my cellphone specifically to show my cell # as my caller ID. Is there a way to disable my hub # and enable my cell # instead - these calls are Craigslist/eBay/etc.. where I don't want the caller ID to be my hub # for privacy sakes.

Chris W
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 8:30 am

Re: ooma mobile - multiple phone numbers

Post by Chris W » Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:21 pm

Can the Telo be setup to display one's google number with mobile calling and the correct number when calling from the Telo or handset number?

Chris

Post Reply