New telephone number

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
wromine
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:57 am

New telephone number

Post by wromine » Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:26 pm

Got a basic question, probably discussed many times. When I installed ooma I kept my verizon landline and assigned that number to ooma. I would like to get a new number for my ooma system. Soon I will be canceling my verizon landline. What's the procedure to change the ooma number? Bill

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: New telephone number

Post by niknak » Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:41 pm

You'll need to call ooma support and request they provision your hub with an ooma number.

You should check to make sure that ooma has a number in an area code that is local to your ratecenter.

You can cancel your verizon service anytime after you get your new number.

Make sure you are not under a contract with verizon and that there are no early termination fees!

murphy
Posts: 7228
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: New telephone number

Post by murphy » Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:24 am

You can also port your Verizon number to ooma which will automatically cancel your Verizon service. If you are using DSL, there is more to the porting process so you don't also lose the DSL service.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: New telephone number

Post by bw1 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:33 am

If you have Premier, you can log into the lounge and select Preferences and then Phone Numbers and then Add a new phone number.

If you don't have Premier, I think you'll have to contact support to have them assign a number.

In either case, you'll have to contact support in order to have them re-configure your Ooma to not use the landline.

Here's more info: http://cp-ooma.talismaonline.com/articl ... 19&p=12040

Or you can go here to see if they can port your number or they have a number in your area: https://www.ooma.com/did_search-popup.php

If you can and want to port your existing number, in the lounge, select add-ons and number port. The porting fee is $39.99 or you can sign up for a yearly subscription of premier for $99.99 and get the port included.

Like murphy said, if you have DSL, it's a more involved process to port or cancel your landline, so you don't lose DSL.

scoutconnor
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Upstate NY

Re: New telephone number

Post by scoutconnor » Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:44 am

JUst a note, changing your number costs $10

wromine
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:57 am

Re: New telephone number

Post by wromine » Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:30 am

Thanks folks. I'll call support today and go from there. I really appreciate the responses. Between you and I, Verizon is a rip off. They charge me six dollars a month for long distance. I haven't made an outgoing call on Verizon since I activated ooma a year year ago.

Post Reply