Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
wardm6
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:26 pm

Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by wardm6 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:35 am

My ooma hub died - one of the golden ones with no fees as it was part of a bundle. Had a lightning strike a while ago and the hub isnt working now. I have my calls being forwarded to my cell for time being but wanted to know what my options are in terms of replacing / upgrading the unit. Anyway to avoid the fees since I had one of the no-fee setups or am I out of luck.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by lbmofo » Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:47 am

Email Bobby B
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by thunderbird » Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:56 am

wardm6 wrote:My ooma hub died - one of the golden ones with no fees as it was part of a bundle. Had a lightning strike a while ago and the hub isnt working now. I have my calls being forwarded to my cell for time being but wanted to know what my options are in terms of replacing / upgrading the unit. Anyway to avoid the fees since I had one of the no-fee setups or am I out of luck.
Is your Ooma Hub completely dead, or are there some lights that still come on.

If it appears to be completely dead, the power adapter may be defective?

wardm6
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:26 pm

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by wardm6 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:01 am

red lights and red tab on hub as I recall. I am at work so can't recall specifically. I will check tonight and report back.

wardm6
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:26 pm

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by wardm6 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:26 am

Looks like tab, 1 and 2 buttons are red.

murphy
Posts: 7231
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by murphy » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:34 am

wardm6 wrote:Looks like tab, 1 and 2 buttons are red.
From page 40 of the user guide.

The ooma Hub is unable to register to the ooma network. Check your Internet connection to see if it is working and that you can successfully browse to https://www.ooma.com.

https://www.ooma.com/sites/default/file ... e_revA.pdf
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

wardm6
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:26 pm

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by wardm6 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:53 am

Definitely have internet connection.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by thunderbird » Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:08 am

wardm6 wrote:Definitely have internet connection.
First:
Hub factory reset sequence:

1) Remove the power for the Ooma device.
2) Hold down the Ooma tab [blue light] and connect the power. Hold for 30 seconds until all the lights start flashing.

Once the lights stop flashing, release the Ooma tab and the device will reset to factory settings.

Some people say they have to do the reset several times in a row before they have success.

Next:
Using a corded phone connected to the Ooma Hub phone port, check and listen for the Ooma dial tone.

wardm6
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:26 pm

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by wardm6 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:35 am

Should I remove all the connections to the hub before doing this except for power or just leave it connected like normal?

I will try this tonight and report back.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Ooma hub died - what are my options?

Post by thunderbird » Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:50 am

wardm6 wrote:Should I remove all the connections to the hub before doing this except for power or just leave it connected like normal?

I will try this tonight and report back.
Leave it connected as normal.

Post Reply