My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
njarif
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 6:10 pm

My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by njarif » Wed May 04, 2011 5:49 pm

Just purchased new Ooma Telo from Amazon and got it Apr 27 2011. I noticed that it came with "Phone" jack only and no "wall" jack as depicted in the documentation. Did I get an older model? Should I return it since I will not be able to use landline integration as a backup?

Thanks

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by lbmofo » Wed May 04, 2011 5:56 pm

wow, can you post a pic?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by nn5i » Wed May 04, 2011 6:23 pm

Yes, I'd like to see that too.

njarif
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by njarif » Wed May 04, 2011 6:36 pm

OOMA_1b.jpg
Here it is no "wall" jack and just purchased on Amazon 4/27/2011
OOMA_1b.jpg (102.56 KiB) Viewed 5300 times

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by nn5i » Wed May 04, 2011 6:43 pm

Looks like a manufacturing defect. Who knows, maybe there's a whole production run like that, and you got the first one? Wouldn't that be fun.

njarif
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by njarif » Wed May 04, 2011 6:48 pm

On the bottom of the Telo, there is a label with P/N: 110-0106-100 and next to the Activation code there is label "Revision A". Can any one with a Telo that has a wall jack tell me the P/N and Revison code on their unit?

Thanks

Ely
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:28 pm
Location: Miami
Contact:

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by Ely » Wed May 04, 2011 7:04 pm

wow, that's odd, maybe a new line of Telos being sold with lesser capabilities? but in that case they should probably be cheaper I would assume, then again it's perhaps a manufacturing defect.
System: Ooma Telo
Mbps: 68 Down / 12 Up
PING TIME: 5Ms
Modem>Router>Telo
===========================
Eli Linares @
http://www.realact.net
===========================

dawgfan
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 7:45 pm
Location: Bishop, GA

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by dawgfan » Wed May 04, 2011 7:51 pm

Got mine from Amazon today and no wall jack also. Didn't know it was missing until I saw this post and went back and looked. Paid 199.99 with Prime. I might have to send it back. Instructions that came with it show a wall jack.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by lbmofo » Wed May 04, 2011 8:09 pm

Hopefully, it isn't an arbitrary design change made by the factory. :)

Usually, the cut-out, where the phone port is, is 2wice as wide so maybe they said "oh, just put 1 RJ11 jack there!" :P
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: My Ooma Telo does not have a "wall" jack

Post by southsound » Wed May 04, 2011 9:51 pm

Maybe they finally decided to do away with the dreaded "landline integration" and since the WALL jack has no other purpose, I think leaving it off is great! If you have a landline plugged into the Telo and are using landline integration, it will use the landline in the event of network outage - but not power failure. I have never had anything plugged into mine. And I can assure you that it is not an early model - even the first production models had the WALL jack. What you have received is probably a newer version - not a defect at all. I would assume that there are some hardware improvements in the new box so don't be too quick to send it back.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply