What is the procedure for 3-way calling with Ooma Telo?

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
rocksockdoc
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:05 pm

What is the procedure for 3-way calling with Ooma Telo?

Post by rocksockdoc » Thu Jun 28, 2012 2:46 pm

I needed to do 3-way calling and couldn't figure it out.

Perhaps it's a function of the telephone (Panasonic KX-TG6671with a flash button, see screenshot below) or maybe a function of my Ooma service (I'm new so I have premier) - but it wasn't found in a forum search for "3 way" and "conference calling".

So, may I ask:

Q: What is the process to do conference calling with Ooma?

Image

rocksockdoc
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: What is the procedure for 3-way calling with Ooma Telo?

Post by rocksockdoc » Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:56 pm

Googling, I found out it's not done with the Panasonic desktop phone but with the Telo itself (no wonder it didn't work!):
- https://www.ooma.com/app/support/three- ... ce-calling
To initiate a three-way conference call from an Ooma Telo with a desktop telephone
Call the first number on your desktop phone (or have them call you)
The "1" on the Telo should be orange to indicate it is in use
Press the line 2 button (on the Telo!) to activate your Instant Second Line
The "1" on the Telo will blink to indicate it's no longer the main number
Call the second number (from your desktop phone)
Press the (blinking orange) line 1 and (solid orange) line 2 buttons (on the Telo!) to bridge the two calls together
Both lines should now be solid orange (on the Telo) to indicate they are in use

rocksockdoc
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: What is the procedure for 3-way calling with Ooma Telo?

Post by rocksockdoc » Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:12 pm

For the record, apparently there is no way to call from either the desktop telephone or from the normal phone handset:
- 3 Way Calling

However that thread says three-way calling with Ooma only works if you have Premier:
Q: Is it true that three-way calling only works on the Telo (sans an Ooma handset) with Premier?

rocksockdoc
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: What is the procedure for 3-way calling with Ooma Telo?

Post by rocksockdoc » Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:37 am

rocksockdoc wrote:Q: Is it true that three-way calling only works on the Telo (sans an Ooma handset) with Premier?
bump ...

murphy
Posts: 7231
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: What is the procedure for 3-way calling with Ooma Telo?

Post by murphy » Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:50 am

rocksockdoc wrote:
rocksockdoc wrote:Q: Is it true that three-way calling only works on the Telo (sans an Ooma handset) with Premier?
bump ...
Three way calling is a Premier feature.

https://www.ooma.com/app/support/featur ... -and-basic
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

rocksockdoc
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: What is the procedure for 3-way calling with Ooma Telo?

Post by rocksockdoc » Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:50 am

murphy wrote:Three way calling is a Premier feature
Thanks for the confirmation!

Post Reply