Hub get an update?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Hub get an update?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:55 pm

Saw my hub go red and reset twice, wondering if it got a new update.
I'm at rev 55187.55187 but I can't remember what it originally was.

Any others see the reset?

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

murphy
Posts: 7224
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by murphy » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:37 pm

Mine is at 54444.54444
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:40 pm

murphy wrote:Mine is at 54444.54444
Interesting.....

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by lbmofo » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:18 pm

Rev: 54444.54444 here as well.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

spdinny
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:09 am

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by spdinny » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:58 am

mine's at 55187.55187 also

murphy
Posts: 7224
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by murphy » Sat Mar 31, 2012 4:30 am

Mine updated to 55187.55187 last night or early this morning.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by lbmofo » Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:33 pm

Got Rev: 55187.55187
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by roadshow » Mon Apr 02, 2012 5:52 am

I wonder what was fixed?

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:00 am

roadshow wrote:I wonder what was fixed?
Since the hub wasn't broken, I imagine it was a network change on ooma's end that the hubs needed to see.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

Bill D
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:06 am
Location: 2 Telos in FL & 1 in CA

Re: Hub get an update?

Post by Bill D » Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:18 pm

My Hub also recently got 55187.55187 and I also recently noticed the delay sounded slightly worse, so I measured it (with 909-390-0003 and audacity) and it measured 550ms (up from 400ms the last time I measured it). My ping time to www3.ooma.com is still 100ms. (I'm in Florida).

This may or may not be related to the 55187.55187. I'm just passing it along FYI to see if anyone else noticed the delay.

Post Reply