Can you hear me?

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Lyfetyme
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:10 pm

Can you hear me?

Post by Lyfetyme » Thu Apr 23, 2009 7:21 pm

Hi,

My OOMA setup was flawless with one big exception. When I dial out a call, or recieve an outside call; I can hear the caller but they can not hear me?

I checked my connections 4x...bought a new phone...adjusted my upload speed without results.

Need help like yesterday!

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Apr 23, 2009 7:59 pm

Sounds like an upload issue. can we have some more info?

Do you have ooma WITH a landline or WITHOUT?

DSL or Cable?

Are you connected as:
modem-->ooma-->router
or
modem-->router-->ooma

Go to http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html
and do a voip test. Post the results.

Do you have a Scout connected? If so disconnect it. Disconnect the phone cable from the WALL port on the ooma hub. Try a call.

This should be enough for now.

Wayne

Lyfetyme
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by Lyfetyme » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:09 am

Wayne,

Here are the results of the test. By the way I am using ooma with a wireless intergrated router/modem and DSL--NO landline.


Thomas...
Attachments
test3.jpg
test3.jpg (29.36 KiB) Viewed 4394 times
Test2.jpg
Test2.jpg (46.05 KiB) Viewed 4393 times
Test.jpg
Test.jpg (51.81 KiB) Viewed 4394 times

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:43 am

There is something really strange going on there. I'd like to see a speed test without ooma connected. You have NO upload Quality of Service.
That would explain your voice not going out.

Could you do the same test without ooma connected? I'd like to see if ooma is causing the issue or your internet connection.

Wayne

Lyfetyme
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by Lyfetyme » Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:05 am

Wayne, I seem to have the same results.

Thomas
Attachments
test1.jpg
test1.jpg (14.75 KiB) Viewed 4367 times

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:14 am

What I'd like to see is the test from the other site, the one that tests your voip QOS. It wasn't able to measure on that test. I'd like to see the results with ooma out of the picture. Thanks!

Wayne

Lyfetyme
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by Lyfetyme » Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:16 am

Here you go...and this is w/o ooma connected.
Attachments
test2.jpg
test2.jpg (54.41 KiB) Viewed 4360 times

Lyfetyme
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by Lyfetyme » Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:21 am

Yet another screen shot of QoS test.

Sure hope you can decipher this stuff; I haven't the slightest clue what this means.

Thomas
Attachments
test3.jpg
test3.jpg (43.53 KiB) Viewed 4356 times

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:23 am

Somehow you have a very bad DSL connection, especially in the upload direction. For starters try shutting off your modem for about 10 minutes and turning it back on and check after the modem initializes.

You may need to have your DSL provider check your lines for a bad connection or noise.

I can't think of any other way I could help, maybe someone else can join in here and suggest something.

Wayne

Lyfetyme
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:10 pm

Re: Can you hear me?

Post by Lyfetyme » Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:27 am

Wayne,

Everythings good now. My firewall was the problem. I have an Actiontec router and I needed to turn off the "low" firewall setting. Worried that I had no security I called Actiontec support who said the routers firewall works regardless any additional settings.

Anyway it works...thanks for your help!

Post Reply