Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
vivavn
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 6:45 am

Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by vivavn » Wed May 18, 2011 6:46 am

Hello,
I have a brand new ooma core (hub and scout). I want to activate it but I am not sure if I will have to pay any monthly fee.
Thanks

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by lbmofo » Wed May 18, 2011 6:48 am

Brand new Cores, there are no regulatory recovery fees required.

More info here: viewtopic.php?t=9245#p64442
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

vivavn
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 6:45 am

Re: Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by vivavn » Wed May 18, 2011 7:02 am

Thank you for your quick response. However, when I tried to activate my ooma, it asked for my credit card information, and link me to a page that calculates monthly fee.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by lbmofo » Wed May 18, 2011 7:05 am

That means you didn't get a Core. You must have gotten a Hub.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by murphy » Wed May 18, 2011 7:09 am

Did the Hub and the Scout come in the same box?
There is a picture of the Hub and the Scout on the outside of the box.
If they didn't, it's not a core.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

vivavn
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 6:45 am

Re: Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by vivavn » Wed May 18, 2011 7:14 am

here is a pic of the box.

http://tinypic.com/r/2ahh5w6/7

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by murphy » Wed May 18, 2011 7:24 am

That's what mine looks like.
Does the serial number on the box match the serial number on the hub?
Call Customer Support and ask them about it.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by lbmofo » Wed May 18, 2011 8:14 am

vivavn wrote:here is a pic of the box.

http://tinypic.com/r/2ahh5w6/7
The box is Core but.....hopefully you didn't get duped.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Activate new ooma core (hub & scout)

Post by roadshow » Thu May 19, 2011 12:43 am

Where was it purchased?

Post Reply