ARGH! Haven't been able to make international calls this we

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
DawnW
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:10 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

ARGH! Haven't been able to make international calls this we

Post by DawnW » Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:47 am

I have made them just fine in the past, but THIS week, of all weeks, when DH is in Panama, I can't make them. It is a constant, "Your call cannot be completed at this time. Please try again later."' This has been going on since Saturday. It is now Tuesday.

I have plenty of $$ in my international account calling.

I finally downloaded Skype and paid to call DH from my computer.

SO FRUSTRATED!

Dawn

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: ARGH! Haven't been able to make international calls this we

Post by thunderbird » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:51 am

Dawn:
I wonder if the dial *99 ahead of 011 + 507 + phone number would work?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: ARGH! Haven't been able to make international calls this we

Post by lbmofo » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:14 am

Hi Dawn, peeled this off of internet

US to Panama international dialing format: 011 + 507 + xxx xxxx

Starting digit for main regions:

Panama City: 2
Colon: 4
Bocas del Toro, Chiriqui: 7
Cocle, Herrera, Los Santos, Veraguas: 9

Panama cellular:

Cell phone: 011 + 507 + 5xxx xxxx (or 6xxx xxxx)

When I Google map, I see a (0) between 507 and the 7 digit numbers sometimes. Can you try 011 + 507 + 0 + xxx xxxx?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

DawnW
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:10 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: ARGH! Haven't been able to make international calls this we

Post by DawnW » Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:21 pm

Thank you all. I don't know why it wasn't working.....I had been dialing correctly. The 0 wasn't necessary.....but I did try it!

Anyway, it did go through tonight.

Dawn

User avatar
DTMF
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: ARGH! Haven't been able to make international calls this we

Post by DTMF » Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:45 pm

DawnW wrote:Thank you all. I don't know why it wasn't working.....I had been dialing correctly. The 0 wasn't necessary.....but I did try it!

Anyway, it did go through tonight.

Dawn
My guess is that it's an issue with Ooma's termination provider in Panama. (That's the company that receives Ooma calls to Panama and delivers them to the local number in Panama.) That's beyond their control and not something they could warn customers about.

In this brave new world of cheap long-distance, sometimes things don't work for reasons beyond the control of anyone in the USA.

Just like you would use a different route to get home if there were a roadblock between work and home, definitely consider having a prepaid calling card to use as a backup if those mystery outages to Panama are an issue for you. Sam's Club and Costco have pretty good deals on those cards.
Ooma customer since November 2009.
Formerly employed at another VoIP company.
My opinions are my own.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: ARGH! Haven't been able to make international calls this we

Post by lbmofo » Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:54 pm

DTMF wrote:Just like you would use a different route to get home if there were a roadblock between work and home, definitely consider having a prepaid calling card to use as a backup if those mystery outages to Panama are an issue for you. Sam's Club and Costco have pretty good deals on those cards.
Google Voice is a good backup too. I just dial my GV number and dial out from there. Even the 10 digit GV number that I have to dial is too much dialing for me. :) I mainly keep a balance in my GV account so that my folks (traditional POTS) can dial long distance and overseas.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

DawnW
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:10 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: ARGH! Haven't been able to make international calls this we

Post by DawnW » Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:42 pm

Thanks guys. I will keep that in mind for next year.

Dawn

Post Reply