My Answering Machine & voice mail ?

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
adapa
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:58 am

My Answering Machine & voice mail ?

Post by adapa » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:11 am

Two questions;

If I install my ooma Telo between my modem & router, can I run a 30-40 foot (10-15 yd) phone line to my answering machine? I will have set the ooma to more rings than my answering machine.
I want our phone calls to have priority over our network traffic.

Second question;
If I am on the phone & get a second call, can that call still be sent to voice mail given the above installation? This is assuming I have the premier service.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: My Answering Machine & voice mail ?

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:16 am

Yes.

Yes, even without Premier. However, the number of rings you set for Ooma answering machine to kick in is the same for call-waiting calls as well.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

adapa
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:58 am

Re: My Answering Machine & voice mail ?

Post by adapa » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:24 am

lbmofo wrote:... However, the number of rings you set for Ooma answering machine to kick in is the same for call-waiting calls as well.
So I should set my ooma to 5 rings since my answering machine is set to 4?

I don't need premier for voice mail?....interesting

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

Re: My Answering Machine & voice mail ?

Post by Leeway » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:29 am

I have my Panasonic base set to 4 rings for answering machine.

I have my Telo answer set to 6 rings.

I prefer to use my Panasonic due to convenience of location.

My Ooma answering machine will pick up the call if I am chatting with someone and I get a flash that I do not care to take at the moment. That call will automatically go into the Ooma answering and I can hear it later.

I have the same message on both machines so the caller doesn't know that I chose not to pick up the flash. :idea:

Donna

adapa
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:58 am

Re: My Answering Machine & voice mail ?

Post by adapa » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:27 am

When a voice mail has been left on the ooma, does it give any tone notice on the handset or does it simply flash a lite on the ooma base?

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: My Answering Machine & voice mail ?

Post by murphy » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:31 am

It flashes a light on the Telo handset in addition to the one on the Telo base.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: My Answering Machine & voice mail ?

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:46 pm

Also the voicemail waiting indicator feature (that works with voicemail subscription with landline and other phone services) on most phones plugged into Ooma will also reflect the fact that you got a voicemail.

Changing gears, FYI, feature comparison between Premier and Basic: http://ooma.custhelp.com/app/answers/de ... comparison
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply