Connecting with cisco

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
Johnrhodes
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:11 pm

Connecting with cisco

Post by Johnrhodes » Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:15 pm

What is the proper setup for connecting via a cox cable modem and a cisco model wrvs4400n v2? When I use the option 2 I cannot get connection to the Internet. Should I just use the home network off the hub to the router or the Internet to the router? Or is there another way and do I need to access the router via the Internet and setup something accordingly?

murphy
Posts: 7249
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Connecting with cisco

Post by murphy » Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:24 pm

Connect the Ooma's Modem/internet port to a LAN port of the router.
Leave the Ooma Home port unused.
Once you make the connections and turn it on do not touch the box for an hour.
It will be downloading and installing the latest firmware.
Do you have a hub (white) or a Telo (black)?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Johnrhodes
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Connecting with cisco

Post by Johnrhodes » Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:07 pm

Got it working thx. Black telo. Question. The ooma sign is not lit up though the phone works. Is that right? Also there is music for a dial tone on outbound calls. Again is that right? Thx

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Connecting with cisco

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:32 pm

Tap the "sun" key a few times, the dimmer is probably set to off or low.

Yes, the short ooma sound just before the dial tone lets you know the ooma network is being used for the call.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

Post Reply