Best setup for Incoming FAX?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
FreePhone
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:25 pm

Re: Best setup for Incoming FAX?

Post by FreePhone » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:41 pm

murphy wrote:Do you have a Telo?
Incoming FAXes are automatic on a hub.
I have a hub. If incoming faxes are automatic, but what about setting it up for outgoing?

murphy
Posts: 7233
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Best setup for Incoming FAX?

Post by murphy » Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:23 am

FreePhone wrote:
murphy wrote:Do you have a Telo?
Incoming FAXes are automatic on a hub.
I have a hub. If incoming faxes are automatic, but what about setting it up for outgoing?
Dial *99 pause before you dial the destination phone number.
If you are dialing manually the pause is to wait for the dial tone to return.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

tovtum
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:22 pm

Re: Best setup for Incoming FAX?

Post by tovtum » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:32 pm

Had the same problem until I used the following configuration:

Set up a second line with a non-default ring pattern (s-s-l-l)
Routed my Ooma telo to my fax machine and then my telephone. (Tried using a splitter, as recommended, but had no success)
Set Ooma Voicemail to 9 rings (54 seconds)

On my Fax Machine (Cannon MX870) I did the following:
Turned off ECM
Set Ring pattern to DRPD
Set DRPD Fax ring pattern to other ring pattern

Those settings worked for me to receive a fax.

Now to just configure the Ooma to only forward my original number and not it and the fax number, everything would be golden.

mliu25
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:25 am

Re: Best setup for Incoming FAX?

Post by mliu25 » Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:31 am

Hi wpwood3,

I'm not very technical so I just get a free online fax: http://www.k7.net/index.htm

The only challenge for this free online fax and voicemail service is:

1. It's a 206 area code (but now a day may not be an issue especially you use it sparingly)
2. You need to keep the # active within 30 days or account will go inactivate and you will have to get a new #. For me, I just set a reminder to call the # once every months and the vm kicked in and I'm done.

My question for everyone... how do you type "pause" after *99 on HP 6500 wireless computer fax screen?

nextbond
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:40 pm

Re: Best setup for Incoming FAX?

Post by nextbond » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:22 pm

I have the same HP6500 E709N machine. I connected it as follows

Modem -> Router -> OOma Telo

Ooma phone port -> Splitter : to DECT phone and HP 6500

fax enabled in setup.ooma.com

I don't need the *99 for outbound fax. Incoming fax is not automatic. I have to press the 'Fax start' button on the 6500 for it to receive it.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Best setup for Incoming FAX?

Post by lbmofo » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:02 pm

mliu25 wrote:Hi wpwood3,

I'm not very technical so I just get a free online fax: http://www.k7.net/index.htm

The only challenge for this free online fax and voicemail service is:

1. It's a 206 area code (but now a day may not be an issue especially you use it sparingly)
2. You need to keep the # active within 30 days or account will go inactivate and you will have to get a new #. For me, I just set a reminder to call the # once every months and the vm kicked in and I'm done.

My question for everyone... how do you type "pause" after *99 on HP 6500 wireless computer fax screen?
This free K7 fax and VM service works wonderfully. Faxes and VMs come directly to your email inbox. Thanks for the info.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply